The Dam Eagle Road Trip

Finally… after over two months of being a couch potato to heal my broken ankle; I escaped on a road trip yesterday. The weather was the typical Pacific Northwest winter — rainy and gray, not exactly the best weather for landscape photography. But I didn’t care… I was in desperate need to get away before the insanity of boredom takes over permanently. I knew I was getting to the point of no return when I actually watched the season premier of The Bachelor. If I was looking to regain my self-respect and intelligence, I definitely lost more than a few IQ points for watching the entire episode. So… to redeem myself, I decided I need to put some creativity back in my brain. At first, I thought about escaping to the Oregon coast but given the fact my leg is still in the healing process, I decided to stay close to home — and shoot the bald eagle migration that happens around this time of the year, along State Route 20.

_DSC3069

Unfortunately, there wasn’t a single eagle in sight when I got to the area where they usually hang out. But… no matter, nothing could dampen my excitement and the exhilarating feeling to finally get out of the house and be in nature with my Nikon. I decided to do the dam road trip instead. There are several dams along Route 20. The route is also one of the most beautiful roads I’ve ever traveled. Because of the rainy, gray, sunless weather, it was a challenge with lighting and exposure; everything was mostly flat and lifeless in color. I knew most of the images would be converted to monochrome. With that in mind, I try to shoot with the exposure that would allow me to manipulate in Adobe Lightroom for the mood I wanted to create.


_DSC3075
_DSC3096

The Diablo Dam is the second of the three dams along the upper Skagit River. The Diablo Lake is probably one of the most beautiful places on earth. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to capture its beauty and grandeur. It’s one of those places that you really need to see it in person, especially on a sunny day, to experience its breathtaking vista.
_DSC3195
_DSC3197
_DSC3138
_DSC3136
_DSC3154
_DSC3170
_DSC3168
_DSC3203

As I continued on to the third dam, Ross Dam; I came upon this sign. At the same time, I was starting to feel pain in my leg. So I took it as a sign to turn around and go back home… and lucky me — the perfect ending to a perfect day — I got to see a few eagles along the way. Since I still use crutches to get around, I wasn’t able to get close to the eagles without scaring them away. It was really difficult trying to hike close to the eagles with my crutches. After a few frustrating attempts of tripping and falling to the ground, I was able to shoot one from the comfort of my car. Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend. Happy shooting. πŸ™‚

_DSC3215
_DSC3214

_DSC3221

12 Comments on “The Dam Eagle Road Trip

  1. It’s good to know that you can finally get out again, and this looks like a great choice for a probe into the possible–but if you’re falling down, best to scale back a bit. Do what you can, but let your body tell you when not to push the limits. I love the next-to last image!

  2. Yes, very good to hear you got out of the house at long last, Em – this must have been a big downer. I like these pictures. My three favourites are the speedboat on the lake seen from above, and the colour shot of the eagle and the photo below it – really good stuff! Apologies for being so late looking at this – less blogging time at present. Adrian

  3. Congrats on finally getting out after healing for such a long time Emily. That dam is incredible ! Great series and hope you get back out there to the eagles again soon.

    • Thank you Bella for the pat on the back. I definitely felt alive being out there doing what I love. Unfortunately, the eagle migration is over. But… there is always next year and with my leg back to normal, I’m sure I will be able to sneak up on the eagles without scaring them away… πŸ™‚

  4. Emily, I love this picture but it needs a great story. I think I might have one lets talk and I’ll give you my pitch. LOL This is how I get a lot of my story ideals. My blogs and the other hand come from my heart just like a friend told me. Kat

    • Thank you for the suggestion, Kat. You are more than welcome to use my photos for your story. Though, for me… photography is more of a visual writing for me. I use my photos to interpret my thoughts and the world around me with or without words. For the most part, I like to let my photos do the talking. The great thing is that each photo speaks differently to the person who looks at it. And it is my sincerely hope that the person gets something positive from it. Yes, always work from the heart… πŸ™‚

      • When I take pictures the pictures talk for me. However I found your picture of the road and I love to write stories as well as take photos it is usually other peoples photos that I like to write stories about because since you feel like I do about your photos doing the talking that is why I use other photos to write my stories and you’re photos speak to me and I would like to share that with you so you will know what I hear. LOL Does that make sense to you. I will give you credit for giving me the ideal it is only favor because it is your picture. Thank you. I will be in Everett on the 6th of February would you like to get together. Here is my number give me a call 3604905372. Kat

    • Thank you for the compliment, Roberta. Slowly but surely, my ankle is getting better. It is my hope to get back to scuba diving next month. But yes, I have to hold myself back from over working the ankle. It has been so tough being a couch potato. But… I did start crocheting blankets. Finished one so far, and in the process of making another. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

