Almost Paradise

After more than five hours of flight, free from any major turbulence and bad passenger behaviors; my destination came into view — the beautiful island of Oahu. My paradise island for the next 7 fun-filled days with my camera and scuba gear.




_DSC2890

It has been over 10 years since I last visited the island and my baby sister, who lives there with her family. As I looked out window, memories of my last visit came flooding back… it’s amazing how my life has changed so much in those 10 years. Little did I know, this trip would bring me another big change — a challenge that will once again test my courage and strength.

Talk about life throwing a curve ball… the term “Life Sucks” doesn’t even come close to describe what happened to me on my FIRST DAY of exploring the island. While hiking along a jetty by an inlet, I was so engrossed by the colorful sea-life swimming along that I forgot to pay attention to the next rock I stepped on. It happened so fast, all I heard was the loud crack of my camera hitting the rock and the feel of excruciating pain in my left foot. After sitting for a few moments in a daze, my first instinct was to check the camera, fearing for the worse but with great relief no damage other than a few scratches. However, one look at my leg and the pain engulfing my whole body; I knew my paradise trip was over. To make the long story short, I fractured my ankle in two places. I have never had a broken bone of any kind in my entire life, until this incident. Like the old saying, there’s a first time for everything. Though this is one of those first times, I would rather not have.

For the rest of the vacation, I spent the next 6 days in excruciating pain, feeling like… honestly, I can’t really find the words to describe all the emotions going through my mind… all I know is that I will not be able to use my leg for the next couple of months and the challenges ahead.

_DSC2943

However… not all was completely loss. On my return flight, I was able to witness and photograph one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen. For the moment, the beauty brought me peace and tranquility that made me forgot about my painful broken leg and the screaming babies… ALOHA!!




_DSC3039
_DSC3041
_DSC3044

11 Comments on “Almost Paradise

  1. I’m way behind here, Emily, and am so sorry that I was unable to add my wishes for as rapid a recovery as possible in the wake of your terrible misstep. I didn’t have time even to read folks’ posts, let alone comment–or even write any of my own. I am happy to learn that your pain is finally under control without pain pills, and I wish you continued steady improvement!

  2. Hi Emily! Beautiful photos, especially the sunset – but wow! I really feel for you in your time of trouble and pain! Like you, I’ve never broken any bones, but I can imagine that the pain must be horrendous, and especially so in legs / ankles. My friend, all my best wishes for a speedy healing and recovery! Adrian

    • Thank you Adrian for the compliment. Glad I was able to capture some of the paradise. So at least I have some nice souvenir. It still feels unbelievable when I think about the accident, breaking my ankle on my first real vacation in 10 years. As for the pain, you are spot on…. the pain was horrendous for the last couple of weeks. Finally the pain this week is more tolerable without drugs. However, it has been very challenging learning to use the crutches, especially when I have to wear a big, heavy boot that reminds me of Darth Vader from Star Wars. My dogs give me the puzzling look when I have to slide down the stairs to let them out. One good thing about my limited mobility– it definitely makes me think outside of the box on how to get around. 🙂

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about what happened. But I will say this, your photos look absolutely beautiful. I hope you are doing much better not and are in good spirits. Nice post

    • Thank you Kay for the wonderful compliment. I’m feeling better. The pain is more manageable now. While I find myself wanting to sing the blues, your words of wisdom lifts up my spirit. I’m grateful for your kindness. 🙂

  4. Emily, I’m sorry about your paradise ending on the first day but it could have been worse you could have had to buy a new camera along with having bones broke in your ankle. As my grandma used to say when you do it for the first time you do it really good. I’m really glad that your okay and that you didn’t hurt anything else. Kat

    • Thank you Kat for the comforting words. You’re right… it could have been worse. Though, when I’m stuck on the couch jobless, unpaid bills, no health insurance, and alone all day… it’s not easy to see the bright side of things. Thank you Kat for putting me back on the optimistic path. I know this time will pass and the challenges I’m dealing with right now will make me stronger for the next curve ball. 🙂

    • Hi Paula, good to see you. Thanks for stopping by. Sorry to hear about your family and camera mishap. I hope you will get another opportunity to see your granddaughter soon and I’m sure you will not forget the memory card. I know sometimes it’s the little things that seem to do the most damage.

      You just never know what life will throw at you when you least expect it. Initially, I was overjoy that my camera didn’t break from the fall but now the reality is that if it’s the choice of a broken camera or my ankle, I would give up my camera in a heart beat. Because now, I’m stuck at home with a broken leg, without a job and a mountain of bills coming to me soon…

      • EEEEEEK!!!! Talk about being between a rock and a hard place. I can’t afford a lot but if $50 will help, I would love a critique of my photos. Primarily the ones on my photo web site: http://www.myphotoreflections.wordpress.com/

        I need brutal honesty, what I am best at, where I need most improvement, and if you see any progress as I have gone along. I love your work and trust your judgment. Also don’t worry about hurting my feelings.. .I love photography too much to ever give it up. You can’t discourage me away from continuing. I will always love it.

        I know $50 isn’t much, but it might help a bit if you have the time!

        Paula

        • Thank you Paula for the kind offer and compliment about my work. While I will decline your monetary offer, I would be happy to evaluate your work.

Leave a Reply

