A Very Foggy Adventure Part 2

Even though I didn’t get to dive on the boat trip, it turned out to be a great adventurous day filled with photographic opportunities of a lifetime.

It’s always exciting to see and learn something new for the first time. In addition to learning about the fog bow phenomenon, on our way to the second dive destination — we came upon a small pod of Orcas (killer whale). I’ve never seen Orcas in the wild and what a sight it was. Captain Phil tried to get closer without breaking the regulations of viewing marine mammals. He told us boats are required to stay back 400 yards. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any close up shots of the whales but am still happy for the opportunity. It was an exciting sight even if the whales were quite a distance from the boat.

_DSC2454
_DSC2400
_DSC2413

As we continued on to the second dive location, Long Island Wall — Captain Phil decide to make a little detour by an island full of sea-lions. Another first for me… I’ve never seen a sea-lion in the wild before. And since I had signed up to do the Stellar Sea Lion boat dive that was a couple of weeks away, I was very excited to see the critters I will be swimming underwater with…
_DSC2489
_DSC2493

Images of me having fun, diving, swimming with these agile mammals underwater filled my imagination and then I saw them. They were enormous. Many of them were at least a few thousand pounds. My fun-filled imagination quickly brought me back to reality. The thought of swimming with these giants quickly lost its appeal. I think they look much better through my camera’s viewfinder.





2 Comments on “A Very Foggy Adventure Part 2

  1. Very beautiful photos captured. Seems like you had quite an exciting adventure not many of us will be able to get the opportunity you had.

Leave a Reply

