Happy Like a Fish In Water

After swallowing what felt like gallons of sea water, battling the currents and poor visibility, tumbling around in all different directions, and crashing to the bottom on several occasions (thank-goodness there were no sea urchins below); it’s official… I’m a certified PADI scuba diver!!

Pirate John was there to capture my moments of glory… happy like a fish in water.

P1010351Say cheese…
P1010352

Wow! What an amazing, awesome experience. Even though the eerie green water was freezing cold and murky, visibility less than 4 feet, and my only life source is a 50 lb steel tank strapped to my back; the feeling of being able to swim with the fishes evoked the absolute magical and thrilling emotions deep within me.

There were challenging moments during the certification that made me lose my sense of bravery… but I was determined to make it through the training. Being a certified diver is the only way take my photography to the underwater world. I am looking forward to the new challenges and exciting discoveries waiting for me below. Here is my first of many photos to come as I embark on this new journey. Happy Diving! ๐Ÿ˜€

P1010353

11 Comments on “Happy Like a Fish In Water

  1. Congratulations Emily on your citification in diving. With the guidance and encouragement from Pirate John, you’ve been able to accomplish something that will hopefully give you a lot of pleasure in the future.

    • Thank you, Karen. Yes, Pirate John has been a great inspiration of support for me. He’s taking me on our first diving trip to Hawaii in November so I can practice my photography in warm, crystal clear water. I can’t wait to find Nemo… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congratulations Emily you earned your Certification…a few challenges…but you made it…I’m very proud of you

    • Thank you, Adrian. Though I don’t know about being braver. There was a moment where I actually had a panic attack underwater and if it wasn’t for the excellent calming affect my instructor gave me, I would have bolted for the surface. But all is good… luckily, my desire to be an underwater photographer is greater than my fear; I will work through whatever challenges the new world gives me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations on your graduation, Emily–what an accomplishment and a milestone! Both my daughters in NZ are certified and I’ve thought about it, but at this stage, I’m happy just to paddle about on the surface and look down into the varying depths from there. What camera are you using for your underwater work?

    • Hi Gary, so good to see you. Hope you are doing well and recovering swiftly…

      I hope to make it over to NZ someday soon. I’ve seen beautiful pictures and dreamt about diving in the warm crystal clear water. It would be an amazing adventure worth exploring. Currently, I don’t have an underwater camera. I can get a housing for my Nikon but the cost is rather prohibited at the moment. I’ll probably just get a point and shoot to start with and once I developed my skills, I will move on to a DSLR. Scuba diving is a very expansive “hobby”. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That isn’t the Seychelles but you surely brave and determined. Congratulation Emily.

    • Merci pour le compliment, Jean Yves. No, Mukilteo is definitely nothing like the Seychelles; though maybe someday the right current will take me there… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

