Foodie Friday

While visiting a friend yesterday, I was given a bunch of rhubarb from his garden. It has been awhile since I got to play with food, so the idea of making Strawberry & Rhubarb Pie came to mind.

First, you need 2 pounds of ripe, juicy strawberries. And 4 pounds of rhubarb stalks. Then completely remove the stringy skin off the rhubarb.

Once the rhubarb skin is removed. Slice the stalks into even thin slices. Do the same thing for the strawberries. I like thin slices because it looks better but more importantly; the filling will cook more evenly while the sugar and spices can penetrate into the rhubarb and strawberries easily.

Gently mix the strawberry & rhubarb slices with 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of corn starch, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of ground ginger, and 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper until it’s well coated. I use a 9″ spring form pan. Although you can use regular pie pan if you like.

For the crumble: In a bowl, mix 2 cups flour with 1 cup sugar and 1/2 pound of melted butter. Stir until mixed but still crumbly. Fill pie crust lined pan with strawberry & rhubarb mixture and evenly top with crumble until the filling is covered.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Baked for about 60 minutes or until you see the thick juice, oozing and bubbling through the golden brown crumble crust.

_DSC0650

The pie is really good as is. Although, a scoop of vanilla ice cream would definitely elevate the pie to a delectable sinful level — that you would be happy be devour without guilt. Bon Appétit!

10 Comments on “Foodie Friday

  1. Emily, this looks so good! Although I don’t like Rhubarb, I would like to try this…
    Top pic is my favorite

    • Thank you for the compliment. I’m glad the photo is good enough to entice you to try. I didn’t like rhubarb either until I made it into a pie. If you like it to be sweeter, try adding an extra 1/4cup sugar to the recipe.

  2. Wow that looks good, Em >>> I’d DEFINITELY add the ice cream, sinful or not >>> and being a Brit I might think about adding custard as an alternative to the ice cream >>> am I sinful or am I sinful??????! I hope you’re fine, my friend! Adrian 😀

    • LOL… really Adrian. Custard?! Yup, you’re sinful alright. Though personally, I believe there are a few sins in life that’s worth committing all the time. Eating custard or ice cream pie a la mode is one of them. So my dear sinful friend, thank you. Slowly but surely, I’m getting back on my feet and doing well… life is good… 🙂

  3. Beautiful!! Great photos and the pie looks magnificent! 🙂

    • Thank you for the wonderful compliment, Chris. It’s too bad Big Bear Rest Stop is no longer open or else I would invite you to stop and have a slice.

    • Mmmm… is right. Rhubarb and strawberries, the most perfect synergetic combination for a delectable pie. Thank you, Sallyann for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

