New Year, New Opportunities

One of the most profound things I’ve learned last year… when a door closes, another opens.  However, you might not always like the person behind the door with the offering and the price one must pay. My dream job last year was an amazing opportunity for me. Not only did the project gave me the validation I was looking for but it also gave me the financial earning I desperately needed. I was happy and grateful that I opened the right door… or so I thought. Unfortunately two months after I started my job, my boss told me he and I should date. I was speechless and dumbfounded as I desperately try to tell him off without bruising his ego. All I wanted was to keep my job. Trust me, if I didn’t need my job, I would have told him the truth, that I have no desire to date him now or ever. I was able to come up with some excuses to hold him off.

After realizing my days were numbered; I saved every penny I made and completed my real estate license to prepare for the inevitable of unemployment.  To make the long story short…  when my boss asked for a date a couple of weeks later, once again, I told him that dating him would be unprofessional and reminded him of my NO dating co-worker or boss rules. Well, after that he began to treat me poorly and made my job beyond difficult. In the end, job be damned… I had enough. I told him the truth and quit.

So, now that door is closed. And because of that door — even if the opportunity wasn’t what I had hoped — I was able to make the best of it so I can open another door to a path that I hope will be the right one.

Into The LightI realized that no matter how many doors I have to walk through, there will always be the one that shines brightly if I don’t give up.
_DSC9496-2
Facing The UnknownWhile it’s scary walking into the unknown… it’s even scarier to give up my humanity and self-respect.
Safe HarborThere are times I long for the security of a safe harbor…
_DSC9573But, in the end I rather have the freedom and wings to fly to my true destination…

Happy New Year, Everyone! I wish you another year full of prosperity and doors of opportunity without having to sell your soul.  πŸ™‚

18 Comments on “New Year, New Opportunities

    • Thank You Sallyann for the compliment and for subscribing to my blog. I look forward to following yours as well. πŸ™‚

  1. You have such a positive way at looking at life Emily. And you did the right thing by quitting this job, I hope 2014 will bring you new opportunities and a new and fulfilling job. These photos complements so well your words. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the supportive words, karen. While as difficult as things maybe, honestly… I think last year was a grat year for me. The opportunities I got were priceless. The challenges helped me build the foundation for obtaining my goals this year. I believe things usually happen for good reasons. And I have faith that things will workout for the best in end. πŸ™‚

  2. For all the time that hold my comments, you just blow my mind away. You have so much talent….

    • I’m sorry too, Mike. I was hoping you would be able to come eat at Big Bear. First you missed the Aloha Grille and now Big Bear… oh well, I still look forward to us going on a photo walk when you get here.

      As for the job, sure it would have been nice to have kept it longer but not all is lost. I was able to get my real estate license because of the job so I’m grateful. And yes, my new career will definitely keep me on my feet so I can knock on a lot of doors. πŸ˜‰

  3. Good for you for telling off that jerk!!! It’s a shame that it was a job you liked so much, but no job where you are disrespected is worth it! I’m sure that 2014 will be the year you find what you are truly looking for, and I wish you much success and most of all happiness :).

    • Yes, it was good for telling him off. Unfortunately, he is the type of person that doesn’t care what his actions will do to people and their lives. So what I had said didn’t bothered him one bit. But oh well… such as life. While he is the biggest jerk I’ve ever met and worked for and I’m sure he will not be the last jerk I’ll meet the rest of my life. πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for the good wishes, Cindy. I wish you the same for you. πŸ™‚

  4. I echo what John and Gary have said, Emily – all good thoughts and wishes for the future from me!

    And, on a lighter note, I must say that I like these pictures.

    Keep talking to us all! Adrian

    • Thank, Adrian for the good thoughts and comforting words.

      As for the photos, it was a fantastic way to start my New Year’s Day. The timing couldn’t have been better. It’s one of those being at the right place, at the right time kind of moment. The weather here gets really foggy around this time of the year. This dock down at the marina sticks out into the bay. Between the fog and heavy wood beam structure, the story for my New Year’s Day post became very clear in my mind. Luck was with me because every thing seems work together beautifully. The fog created great exposure and light opportunity that would have otherwise been difficult to achieve during other times. I felt so peaceful and happy as I was walking into the light — my light of hope. πŸ™‚

  5. Emily, your principles do your great credit, and they will surely guide you to fulfillment of your visions. May this new year finally bring to you the stability that has been eluding you for so long!

    • I know you are right, Gary… though it can get so frustrating standing by my principles when my situation isn’t exactly ready to receive the consequence of letting go the security of a steady income. But I’m glad I did not trade my soul and I know things will work out for the best. Thank you for your words of wisdom and support, Gary. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

