The Perfect Lunch

I haven’t had much time to do any kind of quality photography for fun in months. My poor Nikon has been so neglected and was collecting dust —  as with my photographic skills. Finally with the tourist season winding down a little, I had some free time from managing duties to play with the camera. I thought it would be good to shoot some items from our menu to put on Big Bear’s Facebook page. The opportunity to do some foodie shots was a welcome relief for me. While I enjoy shooting all kinds of subject, Food Photography is still my most favorite. I find food photography more challenging to shoot than other subjects. There are many components that has to be just right to get the food to look appetizing: lighting, composition, styling, and presentation to name a few.  Luckily, I have a great chef at my service — not only can she cooks well but she has a good sense of presentation in putting the dish together, which is very important in food photography. And of course, the best part about food photography is that I get to eat the subject; in this case my perfect lunch.  ๐Ÿ™‚

_DSC9330

Nothing like chewy, gooey, chocolate chips cookies right out of the oven. Shannon, the chef makes these from scratch daily. Being a professional baker myself, I have to admit her chocolate chips cookies are the best I ever had — yes, even better than my recipe. ๐Ÿ˜€

_DSC9351

_DSC9343

Here is the grilled eggplant sandwich with freshly made potato chips. This is probably the best veggie sandwich I ever had. Shannon makes her own secret sauce that elevates your taste buds to a level of sophistication that makes you want more. And the warm potato chips is unlike anything you will find in the stores.

_DSC9361

While I felt a little rusty with my photographic skills, it was a fun and tasty shoot.  As they say, practice makes perfect…  stay tune for more yummy dishes from Big Bear’s menu.

7 Comments on “The Perfect Lunch

    • Thank you for stopping by, Karen. It’s good to hear from you. I haven’t been blogging for sometime though I hope to get back to it next year. I miss reading about your inspiring travels and gourmet cooking. For the most, I’m doing really well. Life just seems to keep throwing challenges at me to keep me on my toes.My job at Big Bear came to an end a few months ago but it lead me to a new career path in real estate. I’m looking forward to what next year will bring…

      I wish you a very Merry Christmas and an awesome New Year.

  1. Your food photos are always terrific but it is your descriptions that make me wish I could taste your lunch dishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. And I thought I was the only one whose camera didn’t get a tan this summer! Great shots and you brought up an interesting point that necessarily applies to food photography that isn’t required when photographing other subjects… food photos must invoke another sense.

    Wouldn’t it be great to have a food photography show where all the shots are printed on rice paper (like they do when they apply a photo to a cake) and have it flavoured as the subject it carries?

  3. Very well done Em… food are as easy as peeps think… if my mouth waters, then you know you hit the spot ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

