Good Things Take Time…

I’ve been trying desperately to find work since the closing of my restaurant in October. Yet, it was one rejection after another. I discovered the grass isn’t always greener somewhere else, especially in the desert.

dsc8356

I was facing homelessness and was to the point of great despair about life when the generous support of a caring friend came to rescue me in time. I was given the opportunity to start over. Although, when I no longer have my restaurant to keep me busy, I knew the lack of diversity and slow pace life style in Arizona just wasn’t for me. I moved back to the place where my heart is.

pudget_sound

_DSC4150

_DSC3103

_DSC1990

See Through The Forest

_DSC1430

After moving back in December, while I had a roof over my head and food to eat; I was still struggling to find work. Once again, it was one rejection after another. After three months of rejections, I was so disgusted with all the bullshit employment discrimination: too old, over qualify, not enough experience, too skinny, too whatever… when I was rejected for making sandwiches, I really hit bottom. I came home feeling so useless and sad but also angry. I just couldn’t believe that someone with my experience and qualifications was so unemployable.

After ranting to myself, I decided I wasn’t going to let these rejections get the best of me. I told myself that someone out there will find my skills and talents an asset. I just need to have faith that good things will happen soon… and wouldn’t you know, ask and you shall receive. The following week, I went from willing to be a sandwich maker for a minimum wage to being hired as a General Manager in charge of a rest stop building project by a multimillion property developer. The rest stop will be a destination place with a restaurant, a gift shop, a beer garden and a wine tasting room. And as if the new job wasn’t enough, a creative director from a well established Oregon magazine, saw the photos on my blog and decided to use some of the photos for a feature article in their next issue, including the cover. I was beyond elated by the turn of events. I mean, I went from unemployable to being a general manager and a professional photographer all in two weeks.

The other night as I was watching a silly comedy movie called Rat Race, one of the characters said this quote… “Good things take time, great things happen all at once”. While the movie isn’t exactly award worthy, the quote got me to think about all the great things that seem to happen to me all at once in the month of April. Yes, it took many years to build all the skills that I am now using for managing the rest stop project. And for the last three years, this blog gave me the opportunity to developed the photography skills to take photos that is cover worthy!! The magazine will hit the stores tomorrow. Yup, doing the happy dance… πŸ˜€

I Made It!

30 Comments on “Good Things Take Time…

  1. Dropped by on a whim, found your blog readable and true. So pleased the” overnight success” came by in a double dose for you – enjoy πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the visit and compliment. It’s always good to find out that dreams do come true eventually — especially when you least expects it.

  2. It is nice to know that your life is better now. Your determination to never quit has gotten you where you are today…I’m happy for you.

    • oops, so sorry for the late response, Karen. As always, I appreciate your compliment and support. You trips and beautiful images are an inspiration for me to aspire to. I want to be able to visit all those beautiful places you have shown me through your blog — someday when I retired from the rat race of work life. πŸ™‚

  3. Emily, it is so good to hear you are doing well and have moved back to where you are happy. May good things continue to follow you.

    • Thank you, Martina for the good wishes. The next time you are out this way, I will be here to do a photo walk with you. πŸ™‚

  4. Congratulations!. I just found your blog tonight. Starting with your Grand Canyon post, I scrolled forward, not knowing where your story was leading, and with wonderment how your blogging was almost like your building of a raft. As I read it, I had hope, because each post was evidence you were still building that raft, and you’d somehow make it off that β€œisland” where you were stranded for a time. Even that time, like you said in this latest post, is now a good part of who you are. What a good reminder!

    • Thank you so much Marso for your insightful comment. Now that you got me thinking about it, I did feel as if I was stranded on an island. It took me a while, but I finally made enough rope to build a strong enough raft to take me away to a better place. πŸ™‚

    • It was interesting that the day I got the news about the job and cover, I went out for a celebration dinner. The food was not great but for once, the fortune cookie’s fortune actually made sense. It said, “Your hard work is about to pay off. Congratulations!

      • Haha, that’s awesome! Those fortunes are much better than the ones that make no sense. I once had a fortune that said “You will have new clothes.” Really? That’s it? πŸ˜‰

    • It sure does. Sometimes when I would get impatient and doubt myself about what I do and if I’m wasting my time, then I remember what my grandma told me long time ago. “Even if you can’t see it now, it’s never a time waster when you are doing something good.” πŸ™‚

  5. It’s hard to stay away from the Pacific Northwest! (If Mike makes it back here, we can all get together for another photo walk!) I like the quote – great things do happen all at once, and I’m so happy that these amazing opportunities came your way when you needed them the most.

    • Yes, there is no other place I love like the Pacific Northwest. I have a new appreciation for the abundant rain it gets. Hear that Mike, hurry up and get back here so we can go for another photo walk. πŸ™‚

  6. For some, the blending of skill and experience takes time and fate will not be rushed. Success will find you when it is your time. I’m most fascinated by the forest shots that you posted.

    • Yes, fate happens when it’s the right time. Hope you get to see the rainforests, it is an amazing experience you’ll never forget. πŸ™‚

  7. Great news. I understand how you feel about the Northwest, looking forward to getting back there myself as soon as I can make that happen. So what’s the name of this magazine? Need to buy a copy! πŸ™‚

    • Just keep your visions clear, your desire at heart, click your heels and you will get your wish. πŸ˜‰

      The magazine is called Oregon 1859. It’s a life style magazine about Oregon. Here is a link to their website. http://1859oregonmagazine.com/ I don’t have any images on their website. Unfortunately, the magazines are available all over Oregon, and other west coast states. They are available in Colorado and Wyoming so it looks like they are making its way east but I don’t think it will reach Texas.

  8. Wow, Nice… I take it the rest stop is near Seattle? I can always use a place to rest, eat, buy some photographs, on the way to a great city, been there many times. So nice to read a positive story, I could of been reading about a young woman standing on a bridge railing ready to … πŸ˜‰ Good luck. Dave

    • Hi Dave, thanks for stopping by. The rest stop is located near Stevens Pass on Route 2. Have you been through there? It is such a beautiful drive. We are scheduled to open on June 1st. Please do stop by on your way to that great city.

      From experience, I know life will continue to beat you down and win if you let it. And oftentimes you’ll feel as if that’s all life is about and wanting to give up. While maybe not a bridge, but… you either get busy living or get busy dying. I like to be busy making good things happen. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

