Flight Observation

Just one of those precious carefree days… sitting around… observing… wishing… enjoying one of nature’s wondrous gifts.

_DSC0292

_DSC0209

_DSC0230

_DSC0233

_DSC0246

_DSC0234

15 Comments on “Flight Observation

  1. I love the second picture below the date. It has an x-ray type vibe to me. Sorry…I am not a photographer or know how to communicate what I see in your language…but it looks like you did something to it. πŸ˜‰

    • The wonderful thing about photography is that you don’t have to speak the language or understand the technical aspect of a photo to appreciate the results. Oftentimes, I am attracted to certain image because of the silent communication I get looking at it. Whether it was the subject, the light, the special effects etc. when the image provokes my inner thoughts, all the better.

      From the technical side, I didn’t really do much other than to convert it to black & white, crop, and adjust the lighting under the bird’s wings. In this image, the sun created an overexposure above the bird and made the feathers translucent to give it that x-ray look. Thank you for your comment. I’m glad my photo was able to communicate with you… πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Roberta. yes, I’m back by the ocean. I discovered the grass is not always greener somewhere else… especially in the desert. πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhh the bread trick…. I have visions of the movie ‘The Birds’ πŸ™‚
    You can feel the serene nature in their flight… very nice group of shots.

    • Yup, the bread trick… works great every time. It started with only a few birds and the next thing I know, a huge flock came out of no where… it was like the movie ‘The Birds’ just a little friendlier. Still, I keep my distance when dealing with nature’s critters… you just never know what they might do. πŸ™‚

      Here is a link to another bird post I did. Taught me a lot about nature’s instinct to fight for survival.

      https://emilygoochphotos.wordpress.com/2011/04/29/food-flight/

  3. Oh I like these, Emily >>> you and I should start up the Seagull Protection League, or perhaps the “Take a seagull home with YOU today!” movement!

    These are lovely pictures! The second one down really gets to me – that’s a wonderful crop!, and the 4th down is a most unusual pose – I love that extended vertical wing – its like the bird is bowling at cricket!

    Maybe the best one, in my view, is the bottom one – you’ve really caught the bird well there, its a real portrait! Good stuff! Adrian

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful compliment. Actually Adrian, it was your beautiful image of the seagull that inspired me for this post. I’m not sure if the seagulls need protection, at least not where I live. They are every where and can get rather brave about stealing food right out of your hand. As I was shooting with the whole flock flying above my head… the only thought I had was hoping they would not poop on me or my camera. πŸ™‚

  4. These are wonderful, Emily, and the second is really outstanding. Isn’t it a grand experience to be able to get so close to wild birds? I have really come to treasure these fleeting interactions.

    • Thanks Gary for the compliment. Yes, it is a wonderful experience to be able to explore wild creatures, up close and personal. And like you, I’ve come to treasure these moments as well. Though I have to admit… in this case, a loaf of bread made it a lot easier to entice them to get closer. It’s amazing what these birds will do to fight for a piece of bread. πŸ˜€

      • You gave them a whole loaf? You’re luck to have escaped with your whole skin intact. Ah, what lengths we go to for our passions!

Leave a Reply

