The Shit Eating Butterfly

I was out walking around Willow Lake yesterday with my camera — looking for something creative to shoot while pondering on the recent abrupt departure of someone I’ve come to care a great deal about. As I came across a field of little yellow daisy like flowers, I saw a few butterflies. When I proceed to photograph them, I noticed one landed on the ground. Upon closer look, it was sitting on a pile of dog poop and next to it was a fly watching. After my initial surprise of seeing the butterfly choosing to land on the poop while the others continue to hover from flower to flower; the shit eating butterfly reminds me of my friend’s recent erratic behavior.

It is difficult to understand why a beautiful butterfly with so much potential and opportunities would leave everything behind…

to hang out with the dirty fly and eat shit…

when she had a whole field of beautiful flowers to choose from.

And get the real love she deserves…

Hopefully the beautiful butterfly will find her way back home before it’s too late…

19 Comments on “The Shit Eating Butterfly

  1. How I love these photos Emily, they are wonderfully beautiful !
    This is so strange, why would a butterfly do this ? There is certainly an explanation but I don’t have it !

    • Thank you for the compliment, Jocelyne. I was very surprised when I saw the butterfly chose to eat shit. However this whole experience has taught me that people doesn’t like to see a photo of shit even if it has a pretty butterfly on it. It’s interesting the uncomfortable expression and comments I get when I tell people about it. πŸ™‚

  2. I kinda like to fly outside of the box myself so I could definitely relate to your story. I’ve eaten some shit in my life, but like everything else… it was all for good in the long haul. Hope your friend comes “to” soon! πŸ™‚ Lovely pics, but I’ll have to admit that I had to speed by the shit one!

    • LOL… I find it interesting that a picture of shit brings more uncomfortable reactions from people, even if there was a beautiful butterfly on it. I guess I must have picked up enough shit from my furry kids that I’m used to seeing it. πŸ˜‰

  3. Emily – great topic for a post – this shows you as imaginative and uninhibited and I like those traits, they are valuable assets!

    Your pictures are good. I especially like the top and bottom ones. The top one is a good shot of the butterfly in its environment, and I especially like that tangled and out of focus, grey-brownish background – that shows the butterfly off well, and the butterfly is very well placed in the picture. The bee shot is very good too.

    Now, to get a little boring, I’ve no experience of butterflies eating shit >>> but from my time in Africa I often remember them drinking animals’ urine, for the salt content I believe. Adrian

    • Thank you Adrian for your kind and informative comment. It’s interesting the disgust reactions I get when I tell people about taking a photo of a butterfly on shit. Can’t understand why… I was rather intrigued by seeing the butterfly out of its normal environment. Glad I was able to capture both the butterfly and the fly in the same shot. I think it tells a great story about life. πŸ™‚

  4. What an interesting thought, Emily. I wonder if many could have noticed the anomaly. Great shots.

    • One of the joys about photography for me is being able to see abnormal things that would tell an interesting story just by looking at the photograph. Yes, I thought the whole scene was very unusual but interesting. Seeing the lowly fly with the beautiful butterfly made me think of the life lesson of how crazy someone can behave when under the influence.

      Thank you for stopping by and the comment. I enjoy your photographic style and the humorous posts. Look forward to reading more.

  5. Great shots. Sounds like we’re going through a lot of the same stuff. If you feel like it drop me an email.

  6. Silly butterfly but then maybe it was trying to befriend the lowly fly. Life always presents challenges and lessons. I always look forward to your photos, Emily..

    • Thanks Roberta. I know silly butterfly. Although there are somethings that’s better to be left alone. Life is challenging enough as is without having to eat shit. πŸ˜‰

  7. I’ve never seen anything like that before. I actually had to read your title twice to make sure I read it correctly.

    • Me either. I’ve never seen anything like it. The interesting thing was this butterfly seems to enjoy the poop and the company of the fly. It sat on the shit for several minutes. While the others dash from flower to flower, like the bees. Hum… I guess there is always a black sheep in every group. πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, it can. But in this case, it was a good learning experience. I realized that even some beautiful butterflies will choose to eat shit instead of nectar when given the choice… thanks for the compliment, Mike. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

