Where the Heck Is Spring?

One thing about owning a restaurant… I get to meet a lot of people, share cooking tips, gossips, and get up to date weather report. The other day when someone told me that we were going to get snow, I didn’t want to believe it. After all, it was 70 degrees and sunny outside. Besides, I’m eagerly awaiting for the cactus flowers to bloom. I’ve never seen cactus blooms in the wild and there are quite a few cactus bushes around my wilderness backyard with buds — ready to bloom in a couple of weeks. Well… one thing I am learning about the weather report here… they are very accurate. I woke up yesterday to snow — as they have predicted.

Great… I thought… just what I need when I am trying to get my restaurant going. Anyway, I took the opportunity to use my camera. As I was shooting, the sun came out. I’ve never been in a snow situation where it’s snowing and sunny at the same time. And the thought of perhaps seeing a rainbow came to my mind. I wasn’t sure if snow works the same way as rain and would create a rainbow. Maybe they taught this in my science class and I was daydreaming… which I did a lot when I was in school. Well… I looked and didn’t see any rainbow. But it was still a very pretty experience.

19 Comments on “Where the Heck Is Spring?

  1. We don’t have spring. We have cool and hot with hot lasting 9 months and cool 3 months. Oh, and we have humidity: 11 months. I like the last shot with the lens flare. The flare makes it somehow.

  2. Hopefully, spring has come and things are going well at the restaurant. This is quite a life you are making for yourself!

  3. Awesome blog Emily… love your writing & such beautiful photos! Thanks for lunch today… let’s do it again soon…next time desserts on me! See ya in the morning!

  4. We have had the strangest weather in New Hampshire as well. The orchard bloomed a month early because of warm weather. Back to normal now with the blossoms getting frost. I hope all is going well.

  5. How can it snow when it is hot?! Oh the wonders of this world! Get the restaurant going, Emily! All the very best.

    • Hi Priya! Good to see you. The weather here is very strange. The temperature changes a lot. Last Saturday we had snow and yesterday, it was 87 degrees. I’ve seen more snow here in the last couple of months than I have the last couple of years in Seattle. But all is good… at least, it’s sunny almost every day, even when it snows. 🙂

  6. Glad to see it’s not just us in the far north that are getting the Spring – Winter – Spring – Winter – Spring alternating, indecisive seasons.

    • I think overall, the weather has been “abnormal” all year in many parts of the world. At least, the snow doesn’t stay around very long because usually, the temperature would go back up to the 70’s the next day. Personally, I think the Earth is going through some major climate changes, with or without human help — and perhaps the ice age will not come anytime soon, but you just never know… “What happened in the past, will happen again in the future…”

  7. We never had winter here. Sunny and warm 80’s. Unusual. It’s been a crazy season. Going for a bike ride today.

    • At least you are taking advantage of the nice warm weather. I definitely don’t miss the Seattle weather. It’s so nice to wake up to sunny weather almost every day since I’ve moved here.

    • It is very beautiful to see the landscape covered in snow. And the nice thing is that it stays around just long enough for me to capture the beauty and then it all melts away by the next day.

  8. Nice shots. We had the same thing here in Montana – sunny and warm at the beginning of the weekend, snow on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

