Desert Snow Storm

The temperature last Thursday was sunny and around 74 degrees. I awoke on Sunday morning to find over a foot of snow have fallen and it is still snowing outside as I sit here typing…   looks like the weatherman was spot on about the snow prediction. There’s at least two feet of snow accumulated. Normally, I would be very excited about the snow but… I am right in the middle of a very exciting and important project with tight deadlines. It is a project of my dream come true… and that also explains my lack of activity visiting and commenting on your blogs. I haven’t been able to do much photography and finally the snow forced me to take out my camera so that I can capture the snowy moment forever.

Ah… I’m sure I got you wondering what my dream project is. 😉 I will reveal it in the next post. Hopefully everything will go according to plan and will workout without delay. You will probably be as surprised as I am on how I found the opportunity to make my dream come true.

Okay… back to my snow storm rambling… it had snowed a couple of times since I’ve moved here but it was only a couple of inches. At first I was really surprised to see snow but then again, the town is located over 5,000 feet above sea level. I am learning the temperature here can go from one extreme to another in a very short time. From the looks of the amount out there, it’s likely the snow will probably stay around — at least until Thursday when the temperature suppose be around the 70’s again… in the mean time, the furry kids and I are trying to make the best of the snowy event. As usual, they enjoy running around like wild, crazy, pups and of course; I enjoy (sort of) hiking through knee-deep snow, at 7:00 a.m., on the back trails of my home with the camera on a tripod — looking for that spectacular shot. While I didn’t find that spectacular shot, here are snap shots of the desert snow storm. My first time seeing a cactus covered with snow.

This is a tree located in front of my house. Not sure what kind of evergreen this is but its bright color bark and interesting branches caught my attention.

As I continued the hike up the now — very familiar trail in the back of my house, I felt as if I’ve been transported to a winter wonderland.

And of course… the furry kids. Max is starting to show his age with little white hairs showing up around his face. Someday he will sport the familiar white face mask that all golden retrievers get…

Evie  loves to plow through the snow…

Thanks everyone for your supportive comments and I apologize for my lack of response. The last month has been a life changing experience for me. I am beyond amazed by the events that’s changing my life for the better… better than I have ever anticipated. While I will still fit blogging into my life, right now with my limited time — I will not be able to post regularly. Thanks, everyone! 😀

12 Comments on “Desert Snow Storm

  1. I think the cactus and the tree are pretty spectacular but I’m sure you had something special in mind. Happy to hear that you are doing well…you deserve it.

  2. Emily, it is so good to hear that things are going so well for you, and I can’t wait to hear of your fulfilling dream. Meanwhile, what a beautiful snowfall and how beautifully you have rendered it! Your second shot is my favorite, with the first and the last close behind. I would love to have been with you to see this spectacular event!

  3. Beautiful images from your part of the planet, as different from my part as you could imagine! What a blast of a time Max and Evie are having in the snow!

  4. Great photos! I adore your furry kids photos. We also had snow on Sunday and today – not quite what I expected the first day of Spring to be.

  5. I don’t know Emily – some of those photos look like fantastic shots to me – to say nothing of your fur family! I am a lover of snow, and we have had virtually none here this winter – which is being labeled as “The winter that wasn’t” around here. Our temps have been in the 60’s and 70’s here for several weeks now here in the Smokey Mountains of NC, so it is a wonder. We have had maybe 2″ of snow TOTAL this winter. Weird! Now that everything is blooming I guess I would rather it not snow, because I don’t want everything to be killed off.

    Oh well – you have been away, and I have been lax in commenting. It’s good to see you up and running again, and I can’t wait to find out what your dream come true is! See you next post!

  6. Emily,

    Lovely pictures and a great surprise! I’m so glad that things are going well. I hope the project won’t suffer from a little bit of time to get out and shoot. I certainly understand about other things getting in front of shooting, but hopefully, we will both have a chance to get out and shoot more soon.

    Take care!
    Jonathon

Leave a Reply

