Thirty Days of Changes…

It’s hard to believe that it has only been thirty days since I left my old life behind to seek a new one… facing the unknown head on. I didn’t really know what life was going to be like in my new home. While I am very happy with my new hometown, I certainly wasn’t expecting the emotional adjustments I went through in the last month.  I have to admit… for the first couple of weeks, I felt like a fish out of water. All of a sudden, I went from the fast pace, urban life full of glass tower buildings, congested cars and people to a small town life that is much slower, no traffic jam to speak of and at least half million fewer people to deal with.  I find myself having to readjust my speed constantly both on the road and with the residents. And what really surprised me was that; I never thought that giving up my Washington State driver’s license and the plates on my car would bring tears of sadness and abandonment.  I think the reason being that it really represented the end of my old life… the familiarity of what I had known for the last 21 years. I guess that’s what they mean by being stuck in your comfort zone… you just get used to it, even if the zone isn’t exactly comforting. After taking some time to readjust myself, I finally took out my camera yesterday and went for a walk at a lake about 10 minutes from home. Here are some shots I took of the lake and its surrounding trails.

The rock formation in my hometown is amazing. I’ve never seen anything like it. Most of  the lake is surrounded by these giant boulder hills, with various type of trees and vegetation.

As I was exploring around the lake, I came upon an area where I could hear the loud singing of birds. I followed the wonderful sounds to a patch of dried grass and to my amazement, there were a large flock of birds. It was a fantastic sight to see so many birds all in one place. Of course, they were all hanging out on the other side, just out of my lens range for a closer shot. As quietly as I could, I tried to sneak closer…

Of course, the birds knew what I was up to and before I could even get half away… they all took off at once. But… at least I was quick enough with my camera to capture their take off.

This is definitely going to be a wonderful new playground for me. It will be interesting to see what changes each new season will bring…

19 Comments on “Thirty Days of Changes…

  1. The Furry kids on the rock watching the sunrise! That’s a new favorite of mine. Emily, I’m sorry. I did not know of what you were going through. My son is going through similar and I have been away much of the last 8 months helping him with his girls. What a remarkable journey.

  2. Looks like you picked a beautiful new area to settle down in. I’ve made many moves in my life – I think I’ve held drivers licences from at least five different jurisdictions (including three different countries). Change can be scary, but it also makes us tougher and ready to take on even more. You don’t know how much change you can handle until you start embracing it. So, well done Emily!

  3. Beautiful tones and light in these images Emily. And I’m happy to read that you are doing well.

  4. Great shots. I went through the same adjustment last year, going from big city to small town. It gets easier, and overall you are much better off. Very happy for you.

  5. Beautiful. The pictures and everything else you talk of besides. Be happy.

  6. The picture of the rocks,sky,and water is surreal–more like from someone’s/your imagination than a photo.

  7. Beatiful photos, as ever, Emily. I’m glad things are working out and that you’re living in a beautiful place. It does take time to adjust to a rural or small town environment after a big city – for months after moving here I still ‘heard’ people in the street – particularly at night – that weren’t actually there. And I didn’t hear sheep in the city!

  8. Happy to hear that you have made a move to a beautiful area of our country while I was away. Good luck and much happiness. I know it is hard to adjust to a more rural life as I did the same thing. I think you will come to love it as I have. Wonderful photos are the first step.

  9. Your bird photos are unbelievable. I want the one with the birds on the sticks on my wall – stunning.

  10. A fantastic post, Emily! It’s so good to hear that you are not only adjusting so well, but loving it–and it shows in your new work. There’s an air of exhilaration and delight that shines right through. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

