New Year Sunset and Guilty Conscience

After weeks of rainy days, the sun finally broke through. This is the first sunset for the New Year.Β  Sunsets are amazing. It doesn’t take much for its beauty to leave a lasting impression — just like your wonderful compliments about my work and all the awards bestow to me. I can’t express enough how much your support means to me. I know lately I haven’t been keeping up with my responses and visiting your blogs. I apologize for the neglect. It is my hope that this New Year will pave a better road for me. And I will be free to be… πŸ™‚

And that’s why it is not easy for me to write I’m going to write next… and hopefully, I don’t sound rude or ungrateful. But I feel it’s time I clear my guilty conscience regarding this matter.

Yesterday, I received another nomination for the most Versatile Blogger award. While I have received many awards since I started this blog, I never did follow the rules for getting the awards. And that is to write 7 things about myself and then to nominate 15 other people’s blog for the award. I want to apologize to those people who have taken the time to honor me with these awards but I chose not to follow the rules. It’s not that I am not grateful; I really appreciate your acknowledgment and I hope we continue to support each other. For those blogging friends who have follow and commented regularly on my blog, I show my appreciation by putting their links on my Blog Roll. While I appreciate any future nomination, I sincerely hope you will not take offense if I don’t follow the rules. Thank you.

35 Comments on “New Year Sunset and Guilty Conscience

  1. Sounds like there’s lots of people who appreciate getting the awards, but are a bit uneasy about passing them on. Probably because it smells just a bit too much like a chain letter. I’m in the same boat as you. I’ve received the Versatile Blogger award a few times and I’ve yet to respond with the formal passing it along post. Rather, I occasionally recommend blogs that I think more people should be reading.

    Can you imagine how many VB awards would be out there if every person who received one actually passed it along to 15 people and those 15 did the same and so on. In less than five days (if everyone was careful to not to give an award to someone who already had one), everyone on WordPress would have one. Shortly after day 8, we’d have given a VB award to every single soul on the planet. Sorry. Too much detail? Bit of a math geek.

    BTW, love the photos. Last one is particularly nice.

    • You are right about it feeling like a chain letter. That’s the main reason I don’t feel comfortable about participating. And thank you for doing the math. Since I was never good in math, I just assume a lot of people must have received it and in our case, more than once. Very interesting numbers… mind boggling. πŸ™‚

  2. I hear you. We’ve had weeks of mild grey weather so seeing colours is just wonderful.

    Lovely lovely shots.

    • I think the prediction of mild winter weather from the hornets were fairly accurate. We had mostly above average temps so far. But… looks like the real winter is finally making its arrival. They are forecasting SNOW this weekend.

  3. Your photos are gorgeous with an ethereal quality to them.

    I know exactly what you mean about blog awards. I received too many of them in my previous blog and these days I always decline. While the givers are well meaning, these awards eat up ones time and energy.

    • Thank you. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with using long exposure on water surface. You just never know what you might get.

      • Have you been using any filters? I’d like to try long exposures now that I’ve got the D90, but I don’t know if I have all the gear I’ll need.

        • Congratulations on getting your new toy! I have my D90 for over two years now and I just love it. Slowly, I’ve been adding a couple new lenses and filters. Did you buy yours as a kit? In addition to the two standard lens that came with kit: Nikkor 18mm-55mm and Nikkor 70mm-300mm; I also have a Nikkor 50mm prime and Tamaron 18-250mm/telephoto/macro lens. Ever since I bought this lens, I rarely use the others. The Tamaron lens works really well for the price. The only draw back, the lens tends to creep a little when it is pointed down on a tripod. I recently bought a ND4 filter for the Tamaron lens so that I can take longer exposure shots for water and sunsets. It works really well. These sunset images were taken with the ND4 filter. I think the only other filter I would invest is the graduated ND so that I have more control over the exposure of the sky and land. And if you don’t have it already, another thing I would recommend you get is David Busch’s Nikon D90 book. It will help you learn everything you need to know about how to get the most out of your camera. You will definitely learn a lot more than the little booklet that came with your camera. Hope this helps and if you have any other questions, feel free to email me anytime. πŸ™‚

          • Thank you for the detailed reply, Emily! I bought the D90 with the 18-105mm kit lens, and I LOVE it. The reviews didn’t make it sound like such a great lens, but it’s sharp, has no vignetting that I’ve seen so far, and only has a little bit of distortion when I shoot at 18mm. I’m saving up for a Nikkor 105mm, and after that I want the same 50mm you’ve got (love that lens!) In the near future I’m planning to get a ND filter, and maybe a UV filter to keep on the lens for protection. And then, of course, I’ll have to win the lottery ;).

  4. Welcome back again Emily. Happy new year to you. It’s hard to keep track of blogs because there’s just so many great posts. This week I’ve been good and I’m bang up to date… most weeks though, I find myself quickly going through them as soon as I do my weekly post. I don’t like that as I feel it’s a bit rushed and I leave pretty bland comments. It’s difficult πŸ™‚

    • Good to see you Nigel. Yes, there are so many great blogs and it just doesn’t seem right to pick a list of 15. You know… I’m also happy to see you here and what ever comments you have time to make. It’s the thoughts that count. πŸ™‚

  5. I had exactly the same problem when I was nominated for this award and sadly decided that I had to decline it. I have huge sympathy for anyone repeatedly being nominated.

    • That’s one of the reasons I chose not to participate. I know most of the people I follow have already received some kind of award already. And like the others have mentioned… it is so time consuming for a lot of people.

    • Thank you for the lovely compliment. I’m definitely looking forward to a better year. Best wishes to you too… and I look forward to seeing Minnesota through your eyes.

  6. These are lovely, peaceful photos, a very nice way to start the year. I am always torn when I receive these awards – I appreciate the sentiment immensely, but like you, I chose not to follow the rules.

    • Hi JP! Good to see you back. Hope your holidays were great. I know… I hate feeling guilty for not returning the award… but… decided I didn’t want to make anyone else feel the same way.

  7. Don’t mind not reply. It’s not job and everyone understand what you mean.
    I didn’t follow the rule to choose 15 bloggers because I’m really sorry for the other bloggers who aren’t chosen.

  8. If I could, I would send you some of the sun we’ve been having here, rather than yet another nomination for the award, which I would have done had I chosen to participate.

    • I am so glad you send me the sun instead. I guess mother nature must have heard you, because we had three straight days of sunshine. Thank you!!! πŸ˜€

  9. I am so glad you got that off your chest. I appreciate them to..(the thought) but they are challenging for me to follow to a T and I am so slow to figure things out. I really don’t like to impose on people so I am reluctant. So maybe I will stand with you on this. (:

  10. A very good start to the new year, Emily. I’m very happy to have you for a new friend and look forward to lots more sharing this year. One of my resolutions is to share more of my favorites from my archives, as well as new wonders that come my way. Happy New Year, indeed!

    • Thank you Kirk. I’m very happy to have you for a new friend too. It’s always a pleasure to share and learn from each other. Here’s to a great New Year! Cheers! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Kirstern! Thanks for stopping by and your nice compliment. I really enjoy your creative photography style and technique. I’m glad we discovered each other. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

