Will Work For Chicken Jerky

There was a rain break this afternoon and I thought I would take the opportunity to walk around the neighborhood with my camera —  and see what I can discover. As I was putting on my shoes, the furry kids started to jump around me with excitement. When I told them “NO, you stay”, they looked so disappointed; I felt guilty. Then as I walked out the driveway and past the big piles of leaves, a bright idea came to mind. I thought it would be fun to shoot the furry kids playing in the leaves. It wasn’t as easy as I thought. They weren’t exactly thrill about the modeling session and protested but… in the end, they were willing to work for chicken jerky. 🙂

One of the biggest challenges about photographing Max and Evie together is probably their contrasting fur colors. Because of Evie’s white fur and dark features, the camera has a difficult time detecting the correct exposure. If I set the exposure for Evie, Max usually end up being too dark and vice versa — if I set it for Max then Evie’s fur ends up being over exposed and lack contrast. In this case, I set the exposure for Evie and that way in Lightroom3, I have more room to play with the lighting to bring out the correct exposure in Max and the surrounding elements.

50 Comments on “Will Work For Chicken Jerky

  1. Oh aren’t they cute! Emily, these are lovely photos. 🙂

    I find yellows and whites incredibly difficult to photograph. You’ve done so well here.

    • Thanks Val for the compliment. I agree, the whites and yellows are difficult to photograph. I find it challenging to get the correct exposure when I pose both Evie and Max together.

  2. Oh, they’re adorable! And the shots are awesome, too! You can’t complain about your dogs, I wouldn’t be able to take shots like these of my cats in two lifetimes! LOL.

    • Nope, I have no complaints. If any complaining — it should be them complaining about me being too lazy to take them for walks lately. Thanks for the compliment Belen. 🙂

  3. These photos are fantastic–I love that last one SO MUCH. What fantastic colors, and your pups are the cutest!

    • Max can be such a ham with the camera. The last photo is definitely one of my most favorite. His golden red fur blended in with the colorful leaves more than I had anticipated. He was so silly and playful when I covered him with the leaves. Lucky me, he seems to understand what the camera is for and usually will pose for me — with or without chicken jerky. 🙂

  4. The fact that you got these photos is impressive. A camera pointed at my little one is enough to make her start running, and if I do get a shot her hair is messed up! Hmmm, sometimes the same is true for me.
    Thanks to Karen for sending me here….I’ll be back.

    • Thank you Lulu for stopping by and letting me know that Karen sent you. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to visiting your interesting blog. 🙂

  5. The fact that you got these photos at all is impressive. My dog is not at all a good subject, moves all over the place when she spots a camera pointing at her and her hair is always a mess! Love how you staged the pics.

    • Thanks for the compliment. Actually, I’m very lucky that my dogs listens to me well and usually does what I asked of them… especially, Max. But then again, golden retrievers are known to be a pleaser and he definitely is excellent at it. And Evie is very competitive and will do whatever Max is doing just because… thanks again for the visit. 🙂

    • For the most, I don’t like to use treats as an incentive for getting them to do what I want. I’m lucky they enjoy pleasing me and will do whatever I ask without treats. But… they did such an amazing posing for me, I gave them what they love… treats and lots of hugs. Thanks GG for visiting my blog. I really enjoyed your blog. You have a lot of interesting stories and photos. I look forward to learning more from you. 🙂

    • Yes, they are cute. And they were very professional — didn’t have the prima donna attitude that most models have. They worked hard, did what I asked them to do nicely and only cost me two pieces of jerky. 🙂

      Thank you again Karen for the nomination. I really appreciate your support.

      • Hi Emily, I was pleased to pass the award on and know that many of my readers will enjoy your lovely posts.

  6. These are really cute! That last shot is too funny – Max is looking truly hard done by. Looks like your model has run out of steam.

    • Thanks Mike. I think Max finally decided to get with the program and just let me do whatever. And I got the look when I mentioned the word — chicken jerky. The secret to pet photography — know your dogs favorite words. 🙂

  7. As you know, I am in love with your fur kids! I feel as though this is a special post for me, today, Emily, so thank you. (How selfish of me) That third shot down?…with Max looking straight at the viewer and Evie with the leaf adorning her head? Priceless!!!!!! The last one is definitely Max working for chicken jerky. I can see it on his face. Ha! I’m still chuckling and smiling.

    • Thanks Bonnie. I think I photograph them often enough that they are now used to my camera and knows the routine. Although, I have to admit… I’m lucky for their amazing desire to want to please me so…

  8. I am amazed at how well they seem to be staying still for you to get their photos and treats. These are great, happy photos. The last one is my favorite!

    • Max is probably the best model ever. Unlike Evie, he will sit and stay until I tell him to go. I can tell he wasn’t too thrill about being covered up with the leaves but he will do whatever to please me. Now… if only I can get my man to do that… 😉

  9. Those are so excellent! I am impressed with the contrast/eposure! I am a novice, and just getting started working with making my own camera settings. It’s a challenge, but I love it! Love your pups! Pet photography (especially your own pets) is not easy!

    • I think pet photography is a lot like taking photos of kids. They can’t sit still and rarely listen to directions. But with patience, learning the right words to say and adequate memory card, I find that makes the sessions a lot easier. Thanks for the visit and compliment, Paula. 🙂

  10. Emily! Your dogs are adorable….I have a golden with red hair just like yours…red nose and all…..these are amazing photos. I love the red leaf on your white dog’s hair.

    You did an awesome job with these!

    • I remember it was your adorable Xander that lead me to discover your blog. He looks a lot like Max. Thanks for stopping by Em and the wonderful compliment. 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliment, Victor. For the most, they are very cooperative. But sometimes they have their moments and I just have to be patient with them.

  11. Love these photos! Your furry kids are so cute especially in the pile of fall leaves. Looks like the chicken jerky was just the incentive they were looking for!

    • Thanks Kathy. They are too cute and it was fun playing with them in the leaves. It’s amazing what they will do for food. But, they are two amazing pups who just want to please their mama. 🙂

Leave a Reply

