Abstract Bokeh Effects

Looks like the weather will be rainy and cold for the next couple of weeks. It’s a good thing I took advantage of the sunny weather the other day and photographed the colorful foliage around my neighborhood. Here are some more leafy photos I took from that day. The sun was directly in front of a Japanese Maple tree. The contrast between the light and dark leaves created some amazing shapes and colors.Β  For these shots, I used a ND 4x filter (neutral density) and f/6.3 setting to capture the shallow depth of field and the bokeh effects from the direct sunlight. In Lightroom3, I increased the brightness and contrast. To further emphasize the sun glow, I used the brush and highlight the bright areas in the leaves. I love the brightness and the abstract bokeh effects of these shots. They definitely help chase some of my winter blues away…

Thank you everyone for all your wonderful supportive comments and emails. I really appreciate your concern and kindness. While I am still dealing with the symptoms of SAD, at least I have these images to help brighten my day. And I hope they will help brighten yours as well. πŸ™‚

26 Comments on “Abstract Bokeh Effects

  1. Beautiful images Emily! I also am very affected by, if not the seasons, the day to day weather. It is good that I live in the sunny south. Maybe I am vitamin D deficient….. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the compliment, Joylene. I think for me, it’s mostly the day to day weather too. I know when I lived in places that had more sunny days, I didn’t get the SAD symptoms as much even during the winter seasons.

    • I like this new theme too. Although, I noticed that its display is terrible with Internet Explore on Window 7. I use Firefox and it looks great on my computer. Hopefully, Not sure if WordPress knows this…

  2. Gorgeous light and colors in these images. I am fighting the SAD also. Hope you will be feeling better soon.

    • Sorry to hear you are fighting SAD. I hope you are feeling better. I know your beautiful photos help chase my winter blues away. πŸ™‚

  3. I love the effects and the colors. Japanese maples are so gloriously colorful this time of year!

  4. Lovely. Lovely. Lovely! The brightness of the reds and the other leaves “pointing” I’m the second shot are awesome. Great seeing and good job of fighting SAD. Your creativity is as strong as ever. Thank you for sharing these!

  5. Emily, these photos are beautifully composed. Love the light and colors you created. I hope that you are feeling better soon. I’ll be thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

