Being At The Right Place At The Right Time

The weather on Saturday was a repeat of last weekend — mostly cloudy, with more chance of rain than sun. At first we thought about going back to the Big Four Ice Caves — but when I saw the name Monte Cristo on the map, not far from Big Four, the name sounds like it might be an adventurous place to explore. It reminded me the book I’ve read long ago: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. Except we didn’t know this Monte Cristo was a popular gold and silver mining town during the 1890’s. Had I known that, perhaps I wouldn’t have spent so much time shooting along the way. The mining town was about an eight mile hike — round trip. We were probably about a mile and half away from the mine, when we decided to turn back. The sun was setting and since we were way out in the wilderness, it wasn’t safe to hike in the dark on the rugged mountain trails.

But then again, if I had rushed the hike to get to the mining town before dark, I would have missed these photo opportunities. During the hike through the trails, the sun was playing hide and seek. I love looking at the sun rays shining through the forests and the wonderful light it casts on everything.

It was amazing to see the bright and dark contrasting colors as we headed deeper into the wilderness. And then the most breathtaking light I’ve ever seen… a rainbow. But it wasn’t your ordinary rainbow. It was a circular shape. While I have seen some beautiful rainbows in my life but never have I ever seen one that is a complete circle. The subtle rainbow colors were absolutely gorgeous. I was in complete awe of its beauty. I knew I have witnessed a magical moment that I probably won’t get to see again… this is one of those “Being at the right place, at the right time” kind of moment. The rainbow lasted only a few minutes but for me it was enough for a life time. πŸ˜€

26 Comments on “Being At The Right Place At The Right Time

  1. These are gorgeous, Emily. I particularly love the second one down and the last.

    I’ve seen a nearly-whole circlular rainbow in the distance over a field, but not like this! This is stunning!

  2. Emily, other than your photos of your furry friends, I like these photos the best, as a group. I think you have defined the word GRANDEUR in these!

  3. How lovely! Not only were you in the right place at the right time but you had the opportunity to capture the moment and now we get to enjoy the beauty as well.

  4. The first photo is painterly. Very nice. It was my favorite until your third image. That rainbow is great. Truly magical. Glad you got it.

Leave a Reply

