Photographers Make Lousy Companions

On the way home from our recent road trip to the Big Four Ice Caves, Jean Yves told me he felt alone and neglected. Even though we go on the road trips together but when we arrive at our destination, he always end up having to babysit the furry kids and I’m usually off somewhere else with my camera. I know… I have to admit he’s right. And I have to say he has been quite supportive about my photography addiction and never really complain much… I do spend most of the time exploring on my own with the camera when we are out and about. While I do try to make time to be with him and the furry kids — oftentimes, the addiction to my camera is just too overpowering. It’s so hard for me to not to see something I want to photograph. And yet, it’s difficult for me to concentrate when he waits for me. I do my best work when I’m alone.

As always, we started out walking together and then… as soon as we got to the pond, I took out the tripod. Knowing the routine, Jean Yves and the furry kids went on ahead to see the ice caves. I told him I would take a few pictures and then catch up with them. Of course… as usual… easier said then done. It took me over an hour to walk the short 1 mile trail to the ice caves.Β  There were so many beautiful and interesting things beckon me to photograph them:

Thick rainforest filled with tall, moss covered trees.

Tiny mushrooms with interesting textures, details and colors.

Cloud covered mountain peaks with water falls.

Finally when I made it to the ice caves, we did explore the area and enjoyed the beautiful scenery together.

I had the intention of walking back with them but… the views going back looks different. With out a word, Jean Yves and the furry kids — once again, headed off with me trailing behind.

YES!Β  I admit, I make a lousy companion when I have my camera with me. But… I have a feeling I am not alone in this predicament with our domestic partner. πŸ˜‰

40 Comments on “Photographers Make Lousy Companions

  1. Hi, Emily, My first visit to your blog is the result of following a link to it from your comment on the closing of Sandy’s post (Naturewalk)–I had just discovered it as well and I too wish I’d known about it sooner. But now I have yours to explore, and I’m enjoying my first look. And I really understand your points, as I’m always taking the time to enjoy the delights while others want to trudge on. Nice to meet you!

    • Thank you so much for visiting my blog and your kind words. I’m glad you found me because now I get to enjoy your blog also. It’s a pleasure to meet you. πŸ™‚

  2. I totally relate Em, as do most photographers I would guess. Even when I am out with other photographers on a photo-walk, I tend to go off on my own (as you are fully aware)! It’s the norm for me to be left behind when we go on our family hikes, I think if I didn’t they would think something’s wrong with me (okay, something is even more wrong…)! πŸ˜€

  3. I’ve long since learned that nature photography is primarily a solitary pastime. I can’t expect other people to wait around for me while I take a picture of something this way and that way and from the side and from below, etc. It’s not unusual for me to spend half an hour in one spot, and sometimes even an hour.

    I like the way the grasses fill most of the lower half of your pond picture.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  4. Well, I can definitely relate. Hopefully it was just an observation on his part and not an issue: Thank goodness for being with someone who is understanding. I find that I am constantly “seeing” new subjects, and I also carry my camera with me all of the time. We have an unspoken agreement that as long as we are not under a big deadline to be somewhere or do something, then there is a good chance that pictures will be taken.

    BTW, these are really wonderful shots, the processing makes the difference in them for me. you brought out the lush greenery and it looks amazing shots and post!

    • For the most, he has been very supportive about me going off without them. It’s good thing he has the furry kids to keep him company. But I can understand how it might get annoying being left behind so much.

      I am learning more and more about processing using Lightroom3. I just can’t say enough good things about the software. Thanks Jonathon. πŸ™‚

      • Lightroom is awesome! I got Photoshop recently and am very glad I got Lightroom first or I’d be totally lost. Also, I just started shooting in RAW and for some reason can’t figure out how to get the .NEF files into Photoshop without first converting them to .DNG in Lightroom.

        • I use Lightroom for 99% of my photo processing. It’s a great software. The only thing I would like for them to improve is the cloning and spot removal too. It’s not as user friendly as Photoshop. I have Photoshop CS4 and have not upgraded so the camera raw in Photoshop doesn’t work directly from my Lightroom. I used to be able to right click on my mouse over any image and select edit in Photoshop from Lightroom. Now it tells me the Camera Raw is not compatible with Lightroom and yet the new Camera Raw update only available for CS5. I’m sure this is their marketing genius for forcing people to upgrade. I’m thinking you have version CS5? Have you updated your Camera Raw in Photoshop? If not, you might try updating your Camera Raw version. They have a new Camera Raw 6.6 available at Adobe. Here is the link http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=5312
          I think this will allow you to work your NEF files without conversion directly from Lightroom. Hope this helps. πŸ™‚

          • No, I have CS4 also. Since I have had Lightroom longer than Photoshop, I find it easier to use, but am quickly learning Photoshop. YouTube and others have good videos for that! The spot removal is a breeze for me in Lightroom, but I have not yet learned how to do it in Photoshop. So I do the things I know how to do in Lightroom first, then if any further adjustments need to be done I go to Photoshop. I like Photoshop for resizing, which I have to do for the iPhone and laptop covers for Society6.

  5. Poor John Yves – he sounds very understanding though! You got some great shots. On a trip this past week with my sister and mother to the beach my sister made fun of me; at one point she said “wait – a rock – I have to get a picture!” It was all in fun, though; they both are very supportive and understanding and were asking me to take pictures of this or that. πŸ™‚

    • I know… Jean Yves teases me about taking pictures too. Like during our recent trip, he would say things like “maybe if you don’t take pictures of every tree you pass by, we might get there faster…” πŸ™‚

  6. Gorgeous images. And I agree with your statement about the best work being when you’re alone. It’s just that we are most focused at that time, I think.

    • Exactly… it’s easier to concentrate when we are alone. So if I want to take a certain shot several times, I can take my time and not feel rushed. Thanks Kala. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Jolene. Good to hear from you. πŸ™‚ I really like this theme and will probably keep it. I might eventually use CSS to change some text and colors but for now… I’m happy with how it looks.

  7. As you say, the texture of mushrooms is very interesting.

    By the way your new template is cool black. Have a good day. πŸ™‚

  8. Great shots. The only people I take with me on photo trips are other photographers – have the same problem as you if I try to take “normal” people along. πŸ™‚

  9. Lovely images–and I know what you’re saying. This is why I got my kids their own cameras, now if I could just convince my husband to pick it up πŸ˜‰

    • Great idea to get your kids hook on photography. You know what they say about strength in numbers. Maybe that will convince your husband to do it sooner. πŸ˜‰

  10. Outstanding photos and really like your new look! I can relate… but my husband will usually find someone to talk too and then he is just fine..Lol!

  11. Yes. I have heard, somewhere, that the artist has a lonely obsession. I do identify with you. It is difficult to paint with someone talking to me or sitting nearby. I feel guilty the whole while and pack the palette away. However, there have been many times I have enjoyed painting alongside another who is also actively engaged in painting. Beautiful photos; each and every one of them. Even the “parting shot”, Emily.

    • I think sometimes it’s difficult for non-artist people to understand why we need to create alone or be with other like mind artist. I remember when I was reluctant to give up my art studio space, my ex-husband told me I couldn’t possibly be a good artist if I can’t just paint anywhere. Thanks for the compliment, Leslie. πŸ™‚

  12. Emily, I love the scenic pictures. You do what works for you and it is working great!. I like the new blog look! Wonderful photos.

  13. Awesome photos! It’s too bad your partner doesn’t share your love of photography. For my ex and I, our times on photo excursions like the one you have described were some of our best times together. We would both be doing what you were on the trail, stopping to look at anything and everything, and discussing angles and lighting for the best photo. That worked really well because we each had our unique perspective as far a photography, but we each respected the other’s abilities.

    • It would be great if Jean Yves was into photography too. It certainly would make the trips even more enjoyable. But he has been very supportive most of the time so I can’t blame him for feeling neglected occasionally.

    • LOL… I know. When ever we meet up, the furry kids would greet me as if they haven’t seen me in days. Oftentimes, the furry kids would track me down on the trail somewhere. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

