Basking In The Sunlight

While I am content to be a woman, there are times in my life that I wish I were born a man. Having the physical ability to travel alone and explore without fear is one of those times. I had plans to post photos from my amazing photography road trip along the Pacific West Coast. FromΒ Oregon to California — all the way down to San Francisco and come back through the Sierra Mountains. Unfortunately, I still haven’t found the courage to make the solo trip a reality. For the last few weeks, I’ve been trying to get the courage and every time when I think I should “Just Do It!” the craziness I see from the television, and news about senseless murders make me think twice… three… four times. I’m sure it would have been an amazing trip and I dream about all the different places, people and things I would capture — and the photo projects I could create and sell. I wish I wasn’t so afraid of traveling alone.

So this morning, while feeling disappointed with myself for being such a coward about traveling alone, I started to process the flower pictures I took yesterday. As I stared at the beautiful photos of the flowers basking in the sunlight, I felt a surge of creativity. I decided to make a line of greeting cards and calendars with the photos. Here are some of the images. And maybe, I’ll sell enough that I can hire a bodyguard to go on the photography road trips with me. πŸ˜‰

Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚

46 Comments on “Basking In The Sunlight

  1. Thank you for sharing some of the most beautiful flower photos that I have ever seen!

    I can appreciate your concern over travelling alone, most of my excursions are solo, hence the name of my log. I seldom worry about some one trying to rob or physically harm me, but I’m a big guy who looks like some one not to be messed with. Being focused on your photography would make it harder to bring your dog along, but I think it would add a measure to your safety. I do hope you do make your trip, it sounds wonderful!

    • I used to do travel alone often but with my dog. Even if he is a golden retriever and would probably lick you to death, he did add a measure of safety. But like you said, it would be difficult to focus on photography. I never had much fear about solo travel before but then again, this trip would be longer and mostly in unfamiliar territory. I’m sure I will find the courage eventually. Thank you so much for the glorious compliment. πŸ˜€

  2. These are fabulous photos! I especially like the first photo!
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for the subscribe. Much appreciated!

  3. Emily
    Nice post and nice blog. I noted that you have had some concern about travel. Both my kids have been abroad – Africa, 1 year and South America almost 2 years. They have had many wonderful experiences. As a parent, you worry for their safety. During her stay in Africa, her school principle revealed to my daughter that he had shot a man dead in self defense. My daughter also traveled alone in Central America for two months this summer. My son has been robbed twice but they didn’t actually get anything of value until he lost his Canon G10 at the end of his travels. Yes, you need to “do it.” You’ll be thrilled with your experience. US travel is mostly safe. And Oregon to California sounds really nice. Of course you need to be aware of your surroundings but it would seem that you clearly are always looking about. Your work is very well done. Good luck.

    • Thank you Victor for sharing your children’s travel experience. Sounds like they are very adventurous and brave. I think my biggest worry is definitely camera gear robbery.
      I appreciate your encouragement and I’m sure I will get my courage to travel alone… πŸ™‚

  4. Lovely floral shots Emily. You do great with floral shots besides those beautiful beach shots, and foodie shots. Good luck with your road trip. I bet you’ll get the courage one of these days.

    • Thank you Sasi for the wonderful compliment. You know what they say about being good at what we are passionate about. I love to eat, frolic on the beach, and receive beautiful flowers. πŸ˜€

  5. the lighting in these is perfect. you’ll get the courage soon, stay positive, you’ll be safe.:)

  6. These are all really beautiful! I hear you about not feeling safe, I love being a woman, but it sucks when I have to walk down a dark street after the sun has set.

    • Thank you Belen. I hate to walk alone down a dark street or any street after dark. Even when the street is well lit, sometimes, I still get harassed. I’ve been wanting to try night photography but haven’t just for this reason.

  7. 1. Take the trip by yourself. You’ll be amazed how empowering it can be to venture out on your own.
    2. I am in constant awe of your photos. I wish I could come even close to capturing the light that you find in your photos. Truly amazing.

    • 1. Empowering is the biggest reason I wanted to take this trip. I don’t know… I never used to be afraid of traveling alone when I was younger… maybe time is changing or I’m just getting old. πŸ˜‰
      2. Thank you so much Julie for your wonderful compliment. I’m sure you will find your own creative niche and style as you continue your photography. I constantly experiment with what I know and learning from others of things I don’t know.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a nice compliment. I enjoyed your beautiful photography blog. I really admire your photographic style and look forward to seeing more of your work. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the compliment, Cee. They are my favorite flowers too — especially the dahlias. Not only are they very photogenic but there are so many varieties. I went to a dahlia farm many years ago… talk about a photographer’s paradise. πŸ˜€

  8. Oh my goodness..Just love the colors! Best for you to find a like minded person to go with you. When my son hiked the PCT he met single women hiking alone but I don’t think a good thing to do these days.

    • I’ve gone hiking alone in the past but always with my dog. I thought about taking Max with me but when I’m in my photography mode, I like to feel free from any kind of responsibility and stress. I guess… I’ll just have to go with whatever my intuition tells me. I know I always run into problems when I don’t listen to my instinct.

  9. Being a man doesn’t necessarily make you feel any safer when traveling alone… but, then again, I spent decades watching horror movies, and have spent the last decade or two watching crime shows on TV (Bones, Castle, CSI, Criminal Minds, etc.) and just as many men get knocked off. So, I can relate … I’ll come to the West Coast and travel with you, and you can come to Colorado and travel with me… πŸ™‚

    • I agree, being a man doesn’t exonerate you from harm when traveling alone. However, I do think it’s more vulnerable for women. I know from experience… and yes, watching those crime shows doesn’t help either.

      I like your idea John. That would be great! Colorado is a beautiful state. And I know you would love the Pacific Northwest. πŸ™‚

  10. These are exquisite, Emily, I hope you can find a friend or two to go with you, I would love to see your images from such a road trip! Happy weekend!

    • I hope I’ll be able to make the trip someday soon. I had this grand vision of making photography books of the 4 sections of the United States: East Coast, Mid-West, Mountain, and West Coast. I know… big dream. But… you never know… dreams do come true. πŸ™‚

  11. I too am going the greeting card route. I have a venue at a Christmas craft show where I’ll be selling cards, marble coasters (making those now), prints, and some canvases too. What venue will you use for selling?

    • I was thinking of going the online route. I have a couple of websites, zazzle and redbubble that I’m looking into. I thought about in person arts and craft fairs but didn’t want to deal with carrying inventory. Good luck with your show though. I’m sure you will do great with your beautiful work. πŸ™‚

  12. Awesone photos as usual. It’s no fun to travel alone, I’ll have to take a trip out West to join you!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

