The Belgian Waffle Maker

A few weeks ago, I added a new kitchen gadget to my collection — the Belgian waffle maker. I usually don’t like to buy these counter top appliances because they rarely get used and usually end up being a dust collector. Well… I love this little appliance. Not only does it make yummy, fluffy waffles in minutes, it’s also very photogenic. Since the weather is rainy and cold today, I decided to do a foodie shoot. I came up with this Strawberries & Cream Waffle Shortcake recipe. Enjoy! πŸ˜€

Recipe: Strawberries and Cream Waffle Shortcake
Makes: 6 servings

Ingredients: Waffle
1 Cup Unbleached Flour
3 Teaspoon Baking Powder
2 Teaspoon Sugar
1 Tablespoon Canola or Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
1 Cup Buttermilk

Directions for waffles:
Place all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Mix with a hand mixer until all ingredients are well mixed. The batter will have some small lumps. Follow waffle maker cooking direction as directed by the manufacture.

Recipe: Strawberry Cream Filling

1 Cup Chopped Fresh Strawberries
1 Cup Mascapone Cheese
1 Table Spoon Honey

Combine strawberries, mascapone cheese, and honey in a medium size bowl. Mixed well.

Recipe: Strawberry Sauce

2 Cups Chopped Fresh Strawberries
1/4 Sugar
1/2 Cup Water
1 teaspoon corn starch (mix with a tablespoon water)

Combine and bring to a boil in a sauce pan. Reduce heat and cook for another 5 minutes. Add corn starch to thicken sauce. Stir for another couple of minutes. Remove from heat and let cool for about 5 minutes.

Assemble:

Fill one side of waffle with strawberry cream and top with strawberry sauce. Place another waffle on top to make a sandwich. Garnish with whipped cream and a fresh strawberry.

21 Comments on “The Belgian Waffle Maker

  1. Oh, delicious, images and waffles both–and thanks for the recipe!

  2. What a great gadget! Thanks to your skill of photo, the food looks very sweet and delicious.
    I should go to a cake shop tomorrow.

  3. You truly have an eye for capturing food and also for creating & presenting it where it looks fresh, tasty and beautiful. Very nice! I can almost taste everything in each image, but my favorite is still those lemon cookies!

    Very nicely created, seen and captured. I trust that you’re doing fine.

    Jonathon

    • Keeping food looking fresh and tasty is probably the most difficult challenge in foodie shoot. Unlike the frosting on the lemon cookies, the whip cream would stay stiff and fresh looking on the waffles for a very short period so I had to shoot fast.

      Thank you Jonathon for the supportive compliment. I’m doing pretty good. Just taking life’s challenges in stride. πŸ˜€

  4. I have a Nikon D80 with a few lens.
    Nikkor 18-200mm VR lens – wonderful all purpose lens great close ups too can get with 18″ with the 200″ zoom
    Nikkor 70-300mm VR lens – for macros must be about 5 or 6 feet away, but soft focus backgrounds
    Nikkor 105mm Fixed F/2.8 VR lens – favorite for macros….clear crisp and great bokeh with small point of focus
    Nikkor 24-85 mm F/2.8 VR lens – Macro – best for what I think you are doing with food shots because it’s much easier to get a bigger range of focus.

  5. Oh yummy photographs! I bought one this year and just love it!! I need to make another batch real soon now, since I saw your photographs!!!

    • Hi Kara! Thanks for your visit. I have a Nikon D90. Most of the time I use a Tamaron 18-250mm macro zoom lens. These food shots were taken with it. It’s a very good zoom lens and you can get really good macro shots. Overall I think it’s a good lens for most shooting situations and the price is great compare to other more expansive name brands. The only negatives I have about it is that it doesn’t shoot well in low light situations and the lens creeps when I shoot downward.

Leave a Reply

