Natural Weather Prediction

As I was standing around, waiting for the furry kids to do their business on a grassy patch at the golf course pond; I looked up at a tree branch just above my head and to my surprise, I saw what looks like a bee’s nest. As I stood in awe of the perfectly constructed nest, and was wondering what kind of bee lives there — when a menace looking hornet flew out of the nest.


I told Jean Yves about the nest. I told him it was hanging so low I could touch it. He told me that when a bee’s nest is built low, it means we will have warm weather this winter. While I am familiar with the use of a groundhog to predict if spring will arrive early or late, I’ve never thought much about using insects. Our conversation got me curious on what other insect weather predictions there are. Especially, since I noticed that there are still a lot of dragonflies and spiders hanging around. Normally they would be gone by now…

After some research, these are some of the insect predictions:

When you see more of spiders in the fall, that means abnormally cold temperatures for the upcoming winter months. Hmm… guess this kind of clash with the low hanging hornet’s nest prediction. Although, I’m hoping that the hornet is right. And we will have warmer winter temperatures.

According to the ancient Chinese prediction, if a dragonfly is flying vertically rather than horizontally, it’s a sign there will be heavy rain. Well… I took this shot yesterday and this dragonfly was flying horizontally all over the golf course pond. The weather today started out sunny but it’s starting to rain…

While this was an interesting educational experience, I wouldn’t trust the predictions from the insects anymore than I trust our politician’s campaign promises. Guess, we’ll just have to wait and see. πŸ˜‰

Have a nice weekend everyone.

37 Comments on “Natural Weather Prediction

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award «

  2. Hi, Emily, I’ll use this opportunity (your wonderful dragonfly and spider photos) to thank you for liking my recent posts enough to follow my site. I’m following yours now, too. How nice to have you for a new friend! I am already planning for a serious dragonfly-in-flight project this coming summer. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Thanks for the recent comment on my blog, Emily.

    That dragonfly in flight photo is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! You had to have been quick AND ready to capture than one. Stellar shot!

  4. I have tried and tried to get a photo of a dragonfly in flight, always without success. That’s a great capture. How much did you pay it?

  5. Great shots! The weather has been getting crazy the last few years – no surprise that even the bugs are confused.

  6. Love the dragonfly shot! Looks like it might have turned its head slightly to look at you while you were photographing it!

    My mother always told me when I was a child that when sheep and cows are sitting down it means it’s going to rain. Well, I now live in the country and frequently see them sitting – and it’s not true. Except that sheep do like to sit when it’s raining and I think that what they do is pick a not-as-wet-as-everywhere-else patch and sit there so that their undersides stay relatively dry.

  7. Interesting predictions Emily.
    As always you have some wonderful shots here. Nice perspective on the spider/web shot. Your last shot of dragon fly is amazing.

    • Given my contradictory discovery, I guess we’ll have to wait and see whose prediction is correct — the bee or the spider. πŸ˜‰
      As always… I really appreciate your supportive input Sasi.

  8. I think there’s something to it, but I wouldn’t call it a prediction… they’ve probably changed their behavior in anticipation of what they expect to come. I think all critters are in tune to the natural changes around us, changes we don’t catch these days because we’re separated from it by housing, technology and all sorts of things. “Back in the day” I’m sure successful farmers were the ones who were in tune with the signs of nature and adapted to make the most of it.
    No matter what it means, if I found myself standing under such a fascinating structure as that hornet’s nest, I would have ducked and covered andβ€”without shrieking and running like a mad womanβ€”moved far away as fast as I could.
    Great shots!

    • I do believe you are right about the critters being more in tune with the changes in nature. I know my dogs have amazing senses. They constantly have their nose up in air, sniffing. They can hear and smell things that we would never be able to detect.

      Actually, I had thought about touching the hornet’s nest because I was curious on what the texture was like. I was amazed by all the different wood fibers that were chewed to weave such an extraordinary structure. But when I saw the vicious looking hornet, I decided not to. My boyfriend told me he had touched a nest like that before and said the nest fiber feels like the crust of an over toasted croissant. I’ll take his word for it. πŸ™‚

  9. Interesting prediction.There are many kinds of prediction related to animals.
    Anyway I like the world of macro lens.I enjoyed them.

    • It was interesting to learn all the different predictions the humans have used to predict the weather — such as animals can tell if an earth quake is about to happen or that if you see worms coming up to the surface, it means big rain storm… whatever the case maybe, I just hope there won’t be too many catastrophic events anytime soon.

  10. Your dragon fly pic is amazing, I wish I had taken it πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Lynda for stopping by and leaving the nice compliment. I enjoy your photography blog and look forward to seeing more of your work. πŸ™‚

  11. All great shots! Especially the dragonfly! I know how tough that must of been to get, I made a half-hearted attempt at such a photo a few weeks ago, when there were still dragonflies around.

    • I love shooting dragonflies. It’s fun but challenging. I’ve been trying to capture this particular kind of dragonfly for the last couple of summers and didn’t have any luck getting a good shot until now. All the other dragonflies would land on something to rest except for this particular kind. It darts around fast and hovers for a second or two. I finally learn its flying habits and hovering time — I think that’s why I was able to capture it this time. πŸ™‚

  12. Wow – that dragonfly shot is spectacular! I have no words to describe its brilliance. Hope the hornet’s nest wins… although they are predicting yet another cold winter over here in Sweden too.

    • Thank you Lady Fi for the wonderful compliment. πŸ™‚

      I think the Earth’s climate is going through some major changes — we’ll just wait and see what happens. I just hope nothing too severe this winter.

  13. Emily, your theory about insects predicting weather is interesting. I have read that we were going to have a mild winter. Hope so, but I hope that doesn’t have a huge impact on our environment in a negative way. Your spider is awesome and that dragonfly is spectacular! You captured an award wining image here!!!! You should submit it somewhere!

    • Thank you Martina for the wonderful compliment, especially about the dragonfly. I know I am my own worse critics but even I have to admit, I’m very excited with how the dragonfly came out. I just might take your advice. πŸ˜€

      As for the insect weather predictions, whatever mother nature wants to dish out… I’m with you about having a mild winter as long as it doesn’t have devastating impact on our environment.

    • Thank you for the compliment Katie. I appreciate your visit and comment. The weather today was a combination of sun, cloudy, rain, sun, and more rain. I guess it just couldn’t decide which insect’s prediction to follow. πŸ˜‰

    • Lol… how? Patience and a fast trigger finger. Seriously, it wasn’t an easy capture but it was one of those challenges that really made me think outside of the box. At first I tried using auto everything but I didn’t like the results at all. Mostly, the camera sensor chooses the wrong exposure and auto focus was a problem. Because of the dragonfly’s fast flying speed, the auto focus lens had trouble finding the flying object. I decided to use manual, including manual focus. For some reason, by not relying on the camera, I was able to capture the dragonfly easier. Also by being patient and learning to see the dragonflies flying patterns, I was able to focus on the area where they would hover a little bit longer before darting off. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

