Foodie Friday

While I love figs and have eaten them in many ways: dried, roasted, poached, in fruit preserves, pies, and fig newton cookies. I’ve never eaten them fresh before and was curious how it taste. The other day when I saw fresh figs at the grocery store, I decided to buy the figs to satisfy my curiosity but also for their photogenic quality. It has been a while since my last foodie shoot, I thought they would make a great subject. Although I was disappointed that the fresh figs didn’t taste like what I had expect; they were very photographable and I enjoyed shooting them.

Have a great weekend everyone! 🙂

18 Comments on “Foodie Friday

    • Thank you for visiting my blog and the compliment Hoai Phai. You have a very interesting blog and photography style. I look forward to seeing more. 🙂

    • Thanks Jonathon. I really enjoy experimenting with processing using Lightroom. It’s fun to turn an otherwise ordinary photo into something different.

    • Thanks Nigel. With digital cameras, it’s always fun to experiment with the colors and exposure without having to worry about the cost of buying film. 🙂

    • I just haven’t been feeling like cooking lately. At first I had grand plans to turn the figs into this amazing dessert dish and then… but got lazy, cut them up and added to my breakfast of yogurt and berries instead.

  1. Love the first photo and the DOF. Colors are amazing. Don’t think I’ve had a fresh fig before. You got some great captures for your efforts for sure!

    • Thanks Martina for the comment. It’s always fun to discover something new — In this case however, I enjoyed discovering the new processing technique over the taste of fresh fig. 😀

  2. Very interesting colour and processing you have here Emily. Can’t quite figure out how you did it. When we lived in Melbourne we had a huge fig tree in our backyard. We aren’t fig people so we never tried them, but the flying foxes (think bats, but really big) loved them. Was always startling when I stepped out at night to put out the garbage and a big, dark shape jumps out of the tree and starts flapping away!

    • Thanks for the interesting information about the fig loving flying foxes. I’ve seen flying squirrels but never knew there was such thing as the flying fox. What a sight that must have been.
      As for the processing, I did it in Adobe Lightroom3. Ever since I bought the software last Christmas, I’ve been using it to process most of my photos. I probably could’ve achieve the same look in Photoshop but it would have taken too many layers and steps. Perhaps, I should just do a post on the processing steps. Thanks for the idea Mike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

