It’s About The Destination and Not The Journey

“It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…” I have thought about this well known quote many times in my life. And while this statement may sound like a noble wisdom to follow — from experience, there are times in life; I wouldn’t mind skipping the journey and just get right to the destination. 😀

For Evie and Max, it’s always about the destination and not the journey.

And I’m certain these migrating birds are eager to get to their destination…

21 Comments on “It’s About The Destination and Not The Journey

  1. I happen to really enjoy the journey, rough as it can be. However… if what’s depicted in your beautiful photos is The Destination, I’m ready to skip the rest of the journey, and just find a lounge chair on the beach to spend the rest of my days. 🙂

  2. Great shots, and I have to agree – sometimes it’s important to get where you need to go, get there any way you can.

  3. I feel the sun and hear the water and the grasses and am tossing the frisbie with my favorite internet fur friends! And the pelicans? Oh I wish it was a video, Emily because I love to watch them swoop and glide. Beautiful photos!

    • Besides playing the basketball, Max is a great frisbee catcher. It’s one of his favorite sporting talents. Actually, I did shoot a short video of the pelicans and unfortunately, it didn’t come out good. I often forget that my camera also works as a video recorder. And when I do use it, I keep wanting to use it like a camera. Thank you Leslie. 🙂

  4. Emily, I’m always impressed – you have such consistently strong images across your posts. #s 3 and 4 are standouts for me. The lines, the colours and tones – really nice. I really like the next to last one of the pelicans gliding over the waves – the repeating patterns of the birds and their wings really works for me.

    • The pelicans were definitely the highlight of the trip. Actually, we witnessed a mass migration of all different birds. For over an hour, there were hundreds of thousands, maybe even millions of birds of all sizes glided over the ocean. I have never seen anything like it besides watching it on the National Geographic channel.

      Thank you so much Mike for your wonderful comment. I really appreciate your comment because it helps me learn and improve my work. 🙂

    • Thanks Nigel. Max is an amazing frisbee catcher. He can catch it high, low and in between. Although, his catch is as good as the frisbee thrower; which I am terrible at it. So if there was someone better than me, he would actually take the frisbee to that person instead of me. Dogs do know the difference between bad and good. 😉

  5. Yes, I can testify we had a great time in Ashland this summer, but the journey (mostly on I-5) was not so great The destination was worthy of the journey.

    I love your post because it challenges common wisdom. Sometime the destination makes the journey endurable.

    Thank you, Emily!

    p.s. I think your pups would agree with you. For a dog, the journey on the highway has got to be a challenge.

    • Thanks for the comment Kathy. Good to see you. 🙂 I agree, driving on I-5 is not a very interesting journey. Nothing but endless miles of heavy traffic and concrete block buildings. The furry kids,especially Max hates car rides. He has the most miserable look when in the car. It’s good thing they can’t talk or else I’m sure I would hear “Are we there yet?” often…

  6. I hear you Emily, I felt the same way on my last vacation. I keep thinking that the destination isn’t all that bad, sometimes the journey is not so good. Great photos as usual!!!

    • Yup, I agree… sometimes the journey is not so good. I know there are a few journeys I’ve taken in my life that I should have skip. 😉

Leave a Reply

