Summer Romance

Lately, my creative inspiration is as unpredictable as the summer weather here in the Pacific Northwest. It has been an unseasonably cold and wet summer. Finally, yesterday was one of those beautiful summer days I’ve been waiting for: Perfect temperature, sunny blue sky with a little breeze. I took the furry kids for a walk to feed the ducks down at the golf course pond. When we got to the pond, I noticed there were dragonflies everywhere, darting back and forth. Suddenly, I could feel my dormant creativity turning back on. Much to the furry kid’s protest, I cut the walk short and quickly dragged them home to get my camera. My mind was set on shooting the dragonflies.

When I got back to the pond, it was like witnessing a dragonfly convention. There were many variety and colors. As I crouched behind the cattail bushes waiting for the perfect shot, I heard a “thump” sound and a golf ball landed next to me. The danger of shooting in the golf course pond on a sunny day: I have to deal with fly balls from bad golfers. Well, I wasn’t going to let the danger deter me and I’m glad… While these are not exactly the best shots but I was able to capture the romantic rendezvous of a couple of damselflies doing the wild thing. πŸ˜€

They were getting ready to consummate their love when I came upon them. After letting me take a few shots, they decided to seek a more private spot and flew off, still joined at the hip. Of course, being the naughty photographer; I followed and caught them in action. And within a few seconds, it was over. πŸ˜‰

20 Comments on “Summer Romance

    • Lol… actually, I was more afraid of being stung by the bumble bees than the bad golfers. I had a bad experience with the bee last summer.

  1. Absolutely beautiful Em!

    Why is it that creativity is so tough to maintain at a good level? I struggle with that so much!

    • Thank you for the compliment John. πŸ™‚

      I know… if creativity were easy, there would not be so many starving artists.
      Seriously, I know I find my self struggle to maintain a good level of creativity when my environment has been compromised with negative energy. Usually the weather (too many gray, rainy days), or being around negative people… and of course when I’m stressed and worry about things, it really puts a damper on my creativity.

  2. We have similar damselflies here. My ever-curious daughter saw a couple in a similar pose and asked what they were doing. I considered my answer for a moment but she lit up and said, “I know! One is towing the other.” I let it go at that.

    • Lol… kids can be so curious. And the innocent answer… too cute. Looks like you are off the hook to explain about the birds and the bees for a little while longer. πŸ˜‰

  3. Emily these Damselflies are beautiful. The first one is so vibrant in color. Wow, you are too funny with your posting. I always say photography is part luck, and you got lucky and so did they, I guess. πŸ™‚ I remember you said your surgery was successful and I am happy to hear that you have your energy back. I enjoy seeing your latest creations.

    • You are right on about luck in photography. Some of my favorite shots were captured from being in the right place at the right time moment. It was luck and perhaps some patience that I caught these damselflies in action. As always, I appreciate and enjoy reading your insightful comments, Martina. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Em…what a fun opportunity! I have always loved dragonflies….they are like nature’s art, so beautiful, delicate and colorful.

    How is your health…I didn’t hear the outcome of your surgery. IS all well?

    • I think dragonflies are amazing looking creatures. And they are so photogenic.

      I am doing well. The surgery was a success and they were able to remove all the tumor. My energy is pretty much back to normal. Thanks Em. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

