The Dangers of Snow in July

With the weather being colder than normal all summer, the snow up at the Mt. Baker Ski and recreation area didn’t melt away like it should at this time of the year. The road to Artist Point was still closed. From my estimation, the road was covered under at least 20 feet of snow. Well, I thought… at least we don’t have to worry about bears that normally would be out eating wild berries. From the looks of the area, a lot of the vegetation were still covered under snow.

I later found out it wasn’t the danger of bears I should worry about — it was shooting in the snow on a bright sunny day that was dangerous. For those of you who’s not aware of it — you can get sunburn in your eyes. I didn’t know until a few hours after I got home and all of a sudden, I felt this excruciating pain in my right eye. At first I didn’t know why only my right eye hurt so bad, then I realized it was because I had used that eye to look through the viewfinder on the camera all day. And every time I took a shot, my eye got a concentrated dose of the sun rays; add that with the bright reflection from the snow, it’s no wonder I burned my eyes.

I thank my lucky stars that my ignorance didn’t do more damage to the eye than having to endured four days of pain and suffering. And I was also glad this guy didn’t break his neck while sliding down the steep mountain side on an air mattress. Although, I wish I had used the video on my camera instead… it would have been a hit on YouTube.

Have a great weekend everyone and please remember to protect your eyes from the sun, especially when you are shooting with your camera.

18 Comments on “The Dangers of Snow in July

  1. I didn’t realize that road would still be closed either since it’s so late in the year. Lovely shots! The guy on his mattress is most entertaining!

  2. It’s also known as Snow Blindness, something I learned as a kid growing up in snow filled landscapes of Canada! Love the action sequence you captured Em, totally cracked me up!

  3. Wow, I never even considered that with my camera and protecting my eyes. Thanks for the tip. And thank you for the good laugh just at a time when I needed it… your wonderful capture of the guy airborne on the raft made me laugh out loud!

    • I should have known better than to point the camera directly at the sun without eye protection. But my ignorance got the best of me. I’m glad to hear the pictures made you laugh and brighten your day. 🙂

  4. Looks like you have taken this “panning” to heart. Great shots. I think I like seeing these better than a video. So much more funny. The aerial shot is priceless!

    • It was a good challenge to take these shots. I felt maybe the video might tell a better story than photography. I’m glad you like the story telling of the photos.

    • I’ve have in the past shoot into the sun and was fine. I guess this time with the addition of the blinding glare from the snow made it double dangerous. Just like it was dangerous for that guy on the mattress. He was lucky that he landed on his back instead of his head.

  5. Emily, thanks so much for the photo tip, I’m glad you are ok . I love the snow boarding on an inflatable bed. Too funny! Have to show my kids this, but wait, maybe they might get too many ideas, Your photo collages are great.

    • Thanks Martina. I’m glad you like the pictures. I think maybe it might be good to show it to your kids so they can see what could happen if you choose to go down a steep mountain side on an air mattress — he could have been seriously hurt instead of just an aching back.

  6. Thanks for posting the flip pictures! I’m also glad he’s still here and didn’t break his neck. I hope your eyes are OK too.

Leave a Reply

