The Rituals of Fleeting Love

Love at first sight: When the heart flips and do the happy dance.

Create good impression: “I hope she likes my beautiful feathers…”
The thrill of the chase: “Oh I know she is just playing hard to get… I’ll make her want me.”
The joy of honeymoon: “You are absolutely the most beautiful duck in in the pond…” And, “You are my knight in shiny feathers.” They both cooed at each other.
The arrival of responsibility: “Hmm… didn’t know I was going to be an Octomom.”
All work and no play: “Okay, Junior… how many times do I have to tell you… keep your bottom up and don’t splash so much. You just wait until your dad gets home!”“Aww mom… we just want to have a little fun.”

 The honeymoon is over: “I don’t really want to hear about your complains… you used to be fun before the ducklings were born.” He quacked loudly. “Well, maybe if you help me around the nest a little more…” She quacked back.
Roving eyes seeking greener pasture: “How could you… you told me I was the most beautiful duck in the pond?!!” She cried. “Well, she doesn’t nag at me all the time… and she makes me feel important.” He explained defiantly.
Separate ways: “You know what… I think we need to take a break from each other for a while… you can have the nest and the ducklings.” He said. “Oh sure, and you get to run off and have fun.”

23 Comments on “The Rituals of Fleeting Love

    • I’ve been waiting for the “family” to arrive and after a month delay (I’m sure due to the cold weather), they finally hatched. It was really funny to observe the ducklings and their behavior with the mother duck. A parent’s job is never easy… even for a duck.

    • Thanks Martina. Interesting, both you and John sees picture book. I guess it would make a funny book for little kids. Although, I would probably have to modify the romance and fighting part a little. 😉

    • Thanks you Bonnie. 🙂 By the way… for some reason, I am unable to comment on your type of theme. Not sure if it’s my computer or it’s wordpress but when I try to comment, the text stays black so I am unable to see what I’m typing.

    • Thanks John for the great idea. I’ve never thought about publishing children’s books using photographs instead of illustrations. I’ll have to check into it some more. 🙂

    • It was fun observing and shooting them and then when I saw all the other ducks left the pond except for the mother and babies… the relationship story came to mind.

    • It was interesting to see how some of the ducklings would listen all the time and then there were a couple that would venture off. But when the mother makes the danger signal quacks (like when a stalking photographer refuse to leave them alone)… they all swim back to the mother — fast.

Leave a Reply

