The Wheels On The Truck…

I’m sorry that I haven’t been visiting and commenting on everyone’s blogs lately. The graphics card in my computer burned out a few weeks ago. I’ve been trying to get it fix but have ran into some technical difficulties. Hopefully, when the correct graphics card arrives sometime this week, I will be able to get the problem solved and have my computer running normal again. In the mean time, I am running on the standard back up graphics card and needless to say, it runs very sluggish or would freeze with heavy graphic websites. It’s been tricky trying to get some posting up before the computer would crash if I make it work too hard.

These photos I took of a semi-truck’s wheels pretty much describes the road trip I went on yesterday. Without going into the long details, all I can say is that — the experience has left me reflecting and spinning my wheels. At first I thought the truck driver was nuts for driving so fast. We were already doing 70 miles and he was passing us. But when I saw the reflection of my car in the wheel’s hubcap, my creative light bulb turned on. Quickly, I grabbed the camera and started shooting at the wheels. At first the driver wasn’t sure what I was doing but once he understood, he played along with me and slowed the truck down so that I could get a better shot.

Even though the road trip didn’t turned out like I have planed, I’m sure there are life lessons to be learned from the expereince. I just need to have faith that things will work out for the best in the end. And to enjoy the happy moments because I am sure, the spinning wheels will eventually take me somewhere grand… Happy Monday Everyone!

21 Comments on “The Wheels On The Truck…

  1. Next time you’re doubting your creativity refer back to those truck shots. Great stuff. And who couldn’t like the shot of you and the furry kids?

  2. Very creative these self portraits in the hub of a semi, Emily! Love the shiny green truck photo. There are those two, again! That retriever is ALWAYS SMILING!!!!!!!

    • It’s just not a road trip without the furry kids. As for Max, he is always happy whenever we are out and about. The only time he stops smiling is when he knows the fun is over.

  3. Really great photos Emily!! I feel like I have been spinning my wheels at work. It has been somewhat rough for the past year or so. I am looking for a way to use my creativity. Like you I will get there too. Have a wonderful day!

    • Sorry to hear about your rough time… but I think it’s during those situations that will force us to think outside of the box. I’m sure things will work out for you and you will find the way to use your amazing creativity. 🙂

    • I find spontaneous or unexpected concepts interesting… You just never know what you are going to get in the end. 🙂

  4. What a cool truck driver! I love that he’s looking right at you but I really like the last hub shot, really cool! Max and Evie sure look cute with their pet. 😛

    • I think the truck driver enjoyed the little distraction I gave him from his long drive. We were giving each other hand signals and he posed for me. He even drove his truck behind me so that I could get a shot of the front of his truck while I was standing through my car’s sunroof. I’m sure the other drivers on the freeway thought: I was nuts or that I was some great photographer doing a photo shoot. I like to believe they thought the latter. 😀

  5. I hope you can get your computer fixed! It can be so frustrating when you want to use it and it doesn’t work they way you want it too….
    Anyway great roadtrip photos 🙂

    • Yeah!!! I got it fixed! It’s working great again. It’s amazing how dependent we get by these new tech toys. 😉

  6. Emily, these are really great photos, love the reflection of the wheels and you with your dogs. Hope all you days ahead are brighter.

  7. Love the reflection in the wheel hub – wow! (I’m also impressed at how clean that guy’s truck was!) lol
    Hope you have a fun week my friend xx

    • First I was impressed by the color. I’ve never seen a bright green truck like that before and it was in an amazing shape. And then I couldn’t believe how clean and shiny, especially when I saw my reflection the hub caps. It was a fun experiment. 🙂

      • Well, it was an experiment that worked! Hey, just thought I’d let you know that I drove an 18-gear semi-truck in the States a few years back for about twenty miles….my first and LAST time! Had you been photographing me and the truck at the time, you’d have photographed pure fear on my face! Ha ha 😀

        Chloe xx

  8. Happy Monday Emily! I like these shots. I’ve always wanted to grab shots like these, especially when I had my smart car. Since I’m driving all of the time, I have to settle for the rear view mirror shots. I’m not brave enough to try something this creative while driving though. Good idea to do it from the passenger seat! Nice green truck with shiny wheels! Great subject!

    • Lol… that’s for sure, I don’t think anyone should attempt this from the driver’s seat. However, if you ever come up to Seattle, look me up and I’ll be your driver. 🙂

Leave a Reply

