End of a Busy Week

It has been a busy but productive week. I feel like I’m finally getting somewhere with my goals: to work as a life style & food photographer. A couple of days ago, I had the pleasure of doing a photo-shoot for a local chef. He will be using the photos for his website and other promotional medias. The shoot went well and the food was absolutely delicious. I’m still processing the photos and will post about it with more details next week.

After the photo shoot, as I was walking back to my car; I noticed a big patch of California poppies in front of a little cottage. It was an amazing field of orange blossoms filled with busy bees collecting pollens. Of course… I couldn’t resist shooting them. 😀

During the processing in Lightroom3, I thought I would try something different. I want it to be less photographic looking. Not sure if this works but I do like the vibrant and high contrasting colors. I like the dreamy like quality…

Have a nice weekend everyone.

22 Comments on “End of a Busy Week

    • Thank you Chloe. Actually, I thought of you when I was processing the images. For some reason, I thought you could probably come up with an interesting poem for the them, especially the second bee shot. 🙂

  1. I hate to keep leaving the same comments over and over, but these are so beautiful too! I like how they almost look like a painting…great job!

    • Thank you for the comment Becca. It doesn’t matter if they are the same. Your thoughtfulness and support means a lot to me. I appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment on my blog. 😀

    • Thanks Leslie for noticing. I was trying to capture the painterly quality and still preserve the lighting effect. 🙂

  2. The food shots is great. I wish I had not looked at it as I was eating my pop-tart breakfast – now I feel compelled to go find some “real” food. Hopefully the gig leads to more. Keep pushing! And I like what you have done with the flowers. I

    • Lol… you and your pop-tarts. Did you toast it? Or do you prefer eating it cold? Actually, the ones with the strawberry filling is my favorite. As for the flowers, I wonder what your photographically-correct-settings-required “teacher” would say… 😉

  3. Just remember, we, your fans, will always help you eat the free food samples. 🙂

    Congrats! And good luck with your pursuit!

  4. How exciting Em, I am really looking forward to your “foodie” shots. Have I ever mentioned how much I have always loved your foodie shots? 😀

    • Um… yes, you have mentioned it before… but I’m a sucker for compliments so you can mention it again however many times you like. 😀

    • Thanks Jonathon. Glad to be back online, though it makes me realize how addicted I am to the internet — but then again, I’m sure I am not alone with this addiction. 😉

  5. hey Emily,
    congratulations on the photoshoot, this photo looks beautiful. Did you use a flash?
    the flower photos are great!

    • No, I didn’t use a flash. I rarely use and try to avoid using flash when possible. For these the flower shots, there was enough light to shoot hand held. For the food shot, I used the natural light from the windows with a tripod and an automatic trigger.

Leave a Reply

