POV of a Timeless Structure

Mike and I went on our last photo walk Friday. Since he is moving to Montana, we thought it be would fun to play tourist and visit one the most popular destinations in Seattle: The Science Center. We did the tour through the EMP (Experience Music Project) and the Science Fiction Museum. While some of the contents in the museums were interesting, it was the outside structures that I found most fun and exciting.

The Space Needle is probably the most recognizable and popular landmark in the Pacific Northwest. Located in Seattle, Washington, it was built for the 1962 Word’s Fair. At the time, it was the tallest structure West of the Mississippi River.

Even though I’ve seen the Space Needle dozens of times, it’s one of those timeless structures that never cease to amaze me. Especially, when I’m looking at it through my viewfinder in search of interesting POV.

34 Comments on “POV of a Timeless Structure

  1. This is absolutely amazing. You have captured the scale of one of my favorite places quite perfectly! Love your POV.

  2. I think the third photo is stunning. I immediately see a unity of God’s creation in the clouds and tree with man-made beauty in such a fascinating structure.

  3. Nice shots Emily. Brings back good memories of my visit to Seattle almost 10 years ago. Nice PP and really like the one with the Space Needle and sea gulls. I think sea gulls adds an interesting view to the landmark shot.

    • Thanks Sasi. Glad the photos brought you good memories. Hope you will be able to come out this way again someday soon… 🙂

  4. Yay Space Needle, our hometown. I love the first shot because you got the Monorail, Space Needle and part of the Experience Music Project all in one. I love black and white too.

    • Thanks Jess for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment. Since you live in Seattle, maybe you would like to get together for our monthly photo walk. We have a few people in the group right now and would love to have more.

  5. Nice shots Emily. The composition is really good and the split toning really brings some extra punch to these images. I particularly like the contrasting shapes and textures in the first image. The clean lines and singularity of subject is very pleasing in the second image. And the fourth image is really given a sense of height and separation with those gulls in the foreground. Nice work.

  6. Great shot.Architecture often shows both culture and technology.
    So I can find out something about human beings through architecture.

    • Thanks Cocomino. It’s so true the amazing things we can discover about human beings through architecture, especially structures such as the Space Needle.

  7. i would have to say you definitely came up with an interesting POV… several fantastic POVs!

    • Thank you John for the compliment. For me, photography is a lot like life. It’s always more fun and interesting to learn to see familiar things with different POV. 😉

  8. Excellent photos of the Space Needle, Emily. I am fascinated by the shapes of it that you captured so well with your photography. Thank you.

  9. Wow! The third shot is absolutely amazing. I love how you’ve managed to come up with an original composition of a subject that has been photographed so many times. I don’t know what you did for post-processing, but it works great with the mood of the shot, too.

    • Thank you for your nice comment. 🙂 It’s always a fun challenge to come up with a different perspective of something familiar. The images, especially the fourth shot were part luck (the seagulls) and part patience (waiting for the seagulls to get in the right position). As for post-processing, I used Adobe Lightroom3. I didn’t do much other than to convert it to b&w preset with the tones I like and then did minor adjustments to the lighting, contrast, darkness… etc.

    • I’m happy with the results of the third shot. It was perfect timing we got there when the seagulls were out in full force. They certainly made good additions to the Space Needle. 🙂

  10. These are lovely, sharp images of the space needle. The cream tone/sepia adds to the timelessness and sharpness. I was in Seattle a couple of years ago and shot in and around it too. Thanks for bringing back to those wonderful memories.

    • It was a gorgeous sunny day for taking nice, sharp, contrasting photos on any subject. I used Lightroom 3 to process the images. By using the presets, it was so much easier to achieve than Photoshop.

      Everytime when I see the Space Needle, it always reminds me the first time I went to Seattle and how I fell in love with the city. Glad the photos brought you happy thoughts. 🙂

    • Thank you Bonnie. I do hope you can make it here to see it someday… it’s even more impressive in person.

Leave a Reply

