Food Flight

It has been over a week since my thyroid surgery. Although the incision is healing nicely, it’s still a pain in the neck and my energy level is weak. I haven’t been able to do much without feeling achy and exhausted. Needless to say, between my lack of energy and the rainy weather –the furry kids were acting up and feeling bored. So, when there was a break in the rainy weather yesterday, I grabbed my camera, the furry kids, and a loaf of stale bread and we headed down to the beach. It wasn’t exactly a great beach day. The wind was blowing and the waves were fairly rough, but it felt good to be out of the house and smell the salty sea air.  After the furry kids had their fun, I put them back in the truck.

Then with my camera and the loaf of bread, I went off to have some fun shooting birds. It was fun to observe and shoot the seagulls. I have to say, the more I observe the seagulls, the more respect I have for them. They are actually a lot more interesting and intelligent than I’ve ever thought. It was comical, yet fascinating watching them fight over food through the camera lens.

I found a spot with a couple of seagulls. And holy cow! As soon as I toss that first piece, within seconds — a flock came flying in.

Seeing the swarm coming, the little seagull on the ground quickly took flight with the bread. As it tried desperately to outfly the others.

It was amazing to see them all pursuing the poor seagull so closely without crashing into each other. However, if you look at the center two birds in the photo below. It does look as if their wings got tangled. Anyway, after a short flight and lots of loud squawking they succeeded in scaring the poor little guy into dropping the bread.

The dark brown seagull in the center came up from behind and caught the bread.

You can see it with the bread on the left of the photo. Unlike the small seagull trying to escape with the bread. This one was smarter. And with one quick bite, he quickly swallows the bread as others look on with disappointment.

29 Comments on “Food Flight

  1. I’m just catching up, so hopefully you’re much improved since you wrote this.
    Great seagull photos (they look like they’ve been frozen in time rather than photographed!)
    Reminds me of when I went on holiday with my parents in the early 70s to St Ives in Cornwall (UK) and the gulls there would dive-bomb people and steal their fish and chips!

    • Thanks for stopping by Val. I am feeling better though at times, I still feel a little sluggish and tired. I’m glad these photos took you back in time… 🙂

  2. Hi Emily!

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog tonight (http:/www.gardenmuse.wordpress.com). I’m enjoying your blog now as well. Love the shots of your furry kids and that wet-dog photo is priceless!

    I went right to your first post and got an immediate craving for something lemon. Love the food photos, too!

    You might want to look at my main blog, http://www.cindydyer.wordpress.com, since you blog and photograph about a wide variety of subjects just like I do. The Garden Muse blog is gardening topics only.

    I’m adding you to my photographer blogroll if you don’t mind!

    Keep up the beautiful photography,

    Cindy

    • Thank you so much Cindy for adding me to your blogroll. Of course, I don’t mind. I’m honored. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. I just saw your main blog and your photos are great. I love your garden photos. They are absolutely gorgeous! 🙂

    • Thanks Martina. I am healing though not as quick as I thought it would be. But at least I don’t have to take pain pills. It is nice to live near the water. The beach I go to is about 5 miles from my home. It’s great for Max.

  3. Hi – this is Chloe from “Writing Days-Happy Days” with my new look blog. I’d love for you to pop over and take a quick look at “Blossom Dreams” if you can – possibly even subscribe 😉

    If I’m on your Blogroll, please can you change your link from Writing Days to Blossom Dreams? http://blossomdreams.wordpress.com/

    Many thanks and have a great day!!
    Chloe xx

      • Hi Emily – thank you 😀

        I’ve just had another look at these amazing photos – you really are talented. I especially love your first pic of the seagulls…it’s stunning. And your dogs are so incredibly cute…how do you get them to sit like that? lol You must be a good mum to them 😉

        Hope you continue to feel better my friend xx

  4. I’m so glad you hear your surgery went well. Just continue to rest and recover – you’ll be back to feeling like your old self in no time.

    I’m glad you were able to get out and take some photos. This is a great series, Emily! 🙂

  5. They look very displeased to be left in the car. What a hoot. Pouting……
    My grandaddy and I used to feed the seagulls, Emily. Your photos capture them the way I remember seeing them as a five year old standing next to him and listening to him tell me about them. Lump in my throat. That’s how good these shots are….

    • Lol… Max is really good at pouting. He would swim all day if he could. Thanks for sharing the story about your bird watching experience with your grandfather. I find myself smiling as I imagin the scene of you and him standing there… wonderful memory. 🙂

    • They were happy until it was time to go. And of course they protest and had to be forced into the truck. Just like kids, only without the kicking and screaming. 😉

  6. The look on the faces of the dogs is priceless. I like that first bird shot best. Hope you continue to feel better.

  7. Looking at your dogs makes me want to have one..So sweet ! Great photos of the seagulls. Enjoy your day,, (:

Leave a Reply

