The More Important News

When I turned on the T.V. this evening and began to channel surf, news of Prince William and Kate Middleton’s wedding continue to dominate every news and none news channels. There were even talk about bets being made on the kind of hair style Kate Middle might wear, the color of her dress, shoes, etc. I couldn’t help but feel disgusted that while they are so excited to report about the couple’s impending nuptial, the people in the southern states are experiencing the horrific affects from the devastating tornadoes: flattened towns, as many as 300 people have died, at least million people without electricity, and thousands have lost their homes with nowhere to go. Yet, the news seem very casual and lack the urgency in reporting the types of assistance being provided or how people can help. I mean what happen to CNN and their over coverage news broadcasting on important events? Seems like the wedding has made the news channels forget the more important news at home. Okay, I will get off my soap box now.

My prayers and best wishes to all the tornado victims.

15 Comments on “The More Important News

  1. I didn’t see any of the wedding despite living in the UK. In fact, I think by the time I got up (late) that day, it was all over. And the news of the Tornadoes…. yes, it got pushed out of the way. That’s how it is with the world of media… but people have the right things in their hearts, I think.

  2. Your pictures are gorgeous Emily. Fantastic! I watch very little tv. I saw about 10 minutes worth of the wedding. It was enough.

    • Thanks for the compliment Chris. 🙂

      I know… and there was even more coverage after the wedding. Ugh!

  3. Emily,
    I certainly appreciate your post! I live in Birmingham and although I lost power for 32 hours, my home is still standing and family is safe. We know plenty of people who were not so fortunate. Thank you for your expression of concern and especially your prayers!

    I love the deep red in your photo!
    Thanks again!
    -Alice

  4. Really love the colours, the details…what are they?

    As far as your soap box, I think you might be surprised how many people agree with you on this one, I know I do!

    • I don’t know what these flowers are called or if they even have a name. It was the red colors that caught my eye. They were growing wild with other weeds at the beach.

  5. Really?

    He’s getting married?

    Hmm…

    There’s something to be said about not watching TV. I just watch shows online, and read the news I want. I gave up on CNN a few years ago. They went all “celebrity interest stories” just like everyone else.

    • Now that the wedding is over, the coverage is on the instant replay of the entire wedding, about her wedding dress, the designer, where they are going to live… etc. sigh… but still not as much as it should about the tornado disaster.

      I went for years without having a television. If I was living by myself, I would do the same again.

  6. Lovely details in this shot.

    I will be so glad when this wedding is OVER. Very tired of reading/hearing about it.

  7. My heart and prayers are with them too. Sometimes things like this get run into the ground with all of the glitz and if I were kate I would be exhausted and just want to run off.. lol! Beautiful photo!

    • I do wish all the best for the newlywed and hope Kate will be able to adjust. History has shown that commoners married into the royalty don’t always have a happy ending life.

Leave a Reply

