Road to Recovery

The surgery was a success! And I am doing as well as can be expected. The doctor was able to remove all the tumor, plus only the right thyroid. So far, it looks like the left thyroid is working well and I don’t have to take thyroid medication for the rest of my life. For someone who doesn’t even like to take aspirin, I think I have received enough drugs during this ordeal to last me a lifetime — morphine is definitely not something I would ever want in my body ever again. Though I still feel a little weak and my memory still seem kind of foggy — the nurse told me I woke up at the end of surgery, complaining of extreme pain and began to cry loudly —  glad I don’t remember that part. But at least the neck pain is now more tolerable without drugs and the incision is healing nicely. It’s also a relief to hear my voice is starting to sound more normal instead of like Marlon Brando in the movie: The Godfather. Overall, I was in very good hands. My doctor and his team of nurses were great. Their professionalism and compassion without doubt, made the whole experience a lot less traumatic for me.

Finally, after a week of drug induced comatose state — I was able to get out and enjoy the rare sunny day yesterday. Here are some shots capturing the end of a beautiful day…

Max and Evie watching sunset.

Even dogs know when to appreciate the beauty of nature.

Thank you everyone for all your supportive comments and prayers on my journey of health. Slowly but surely, I’m on the road to recovery. 😀

14 Comments on “Road to Recovery

  1. I am especially glad to hear you won’t need to be taking those thyroid pills for the rest of your life…(I have hypothyroidism) A neighbors daughter is taking a natural thyroid hormone and she says it makes her feel, well, less artifical. Which I understand. Beautiful shots. I’ll have to go read where you are living. Be well!

    • It was a relief knowing I don’t have to take thyroid pills for the rest of my life. Although, I didn’t know there is a natural thyroid hormone. Good to know just in case. Thank you for stopping by Spectra. 🙂

  2. Max and Evie sure look great! Em, your images in this post are so full of hope! I am so glad to hear things went well, you know you are in my thoughts.

  3. That first shot is stunning! I’ve been a bit MIA, sorry to hear what you’ve been going through! But very happy to hear your surgery went well!!

  4. Yay! Welcome back, Emily. Jumping up and down for joy that they got it all. ….and that you shared Max and Evie today.Beautiful photos! All of them. Wishing for no pain for you as you heal furthur…. Hugs. 🙂

  5. I am glad to read that you are recovering so well! And the light in these images is just gorgeous. Continue to rest and heal.

  6. What great news!

    And, the fact that you and Max and Evie got out to enjoy a sunset is good news! Bet it’s nice to feel up to walking around again!

    Beautiful shots…

    Welcome back!

    (Did I use too many exclamation points?!)

  7. Great news, Emily. Glad you’re on the mend. And great photos – especially the top one.
    🙂
    Hugs.

  8. Oh Emily it is so good to see you posting again. I am so glad the surgery was successful and that you are feeling well enough to get out and take photos! Happy Easter!

  9. Glad to hear things went well and you’re on the road to recovery. You got some beautiful shots and make the furry kids very happy. 🙂

  10. Good to see you here Emily. Nice to hear that the surgery was a success.
    I like the title/pictures in this post.

    Take enough rest and get well soon.

  11. Wonderful news!! So happy to hear from you and to see your lovely photographs makes my day even more special.. (:

  12. Love these shots! Thank you for the update. I’m glad to hear you are up and about. And the healing is underway. Take good care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

