A Bump In The Road

Looks like I hit another bump
In this long and winding road
The view is still ugly
And not very friendly

I am so tired
I’ve lost all desire
Wishing for my destination
So I can see salvation

Guess this is a sign
I need to pull aside
And take a good look
At the mistakes I took

I have fought for my share
It’s onlyΒ fair I ignore the stare
And follow my heart
To continue where I start

Not sure how to proceed
Though I do believe
With certainty
My heart will lead the way
To better days

25 Comments on “A Bump In The Road

    • Thank you so much for the link, Sallyann. Love the voice of Frank Sinatra. What an amazing singer he was. The song puts a smile on my face and brought back the courage I’ve misplaced. πŸ™‚

  1. Beautiful photos, Emily. Your words are very expressive. I’m sorry that you have hit a bump in the road, but it sounds like you have the right outlook to carry you over it and past.

      • Yes, I agree… life would be boring without some bumps and detours. Though, lately I wouldn’t mind some smooth sailing. πŸ˜‰

        • Emily, I thought I was trying to help illustrate a point with my comment, but it might have come out wrong. I’m so sorry to hear that you are going through a tough time. I just saw your latest post – my prayers are with you.

  2. I love how you’ve illustrated your words with these images. Better days will surely be ahead.

  3. As a person who suffers from depression, I can relate all too often with these ‘bumps in the road’. However, I have learnt that it is best to just ride through them…and, as for self-analysis and trying to spot what mistakes we have made, I have found at such times, it’s better (for me) to think of the things I have achieved instead. It’s too easy to beat ourselves up otherwise…and we are, afterall, only human.

    I wrote a poem recently called “Don’t Forget to Talk to You” – take a look if you have the time… http://chloerichmond.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/dont-forget-to-talk-to-you/

    Hope you are feeling happier and brighter!!

    Chloe xx

    • I agree, it’s best to just ride through it. I am getting better about not beating up myself about mistakes. I just read your poem and followed your advice. Thank you Chloe! πŸ™‚

    • I heard “This too shall pass” in a movie many years ago and it’s been a saving grace for me during the bumpy moments.

  4. I think I know where you’re at – I have had more than a few bumps in the road lately. Sometimes we just have to take a deep breath and carry on down the road to (we hope) better times. I also like the combination and contrast of the pictures – looking back then looking forward.

    • Moving forward and hoping for better times is all we can do. When times like this gets to me, I think about a couple of memorable quotes from the great movie Shawshank Redemption, where Tim Robins character, Andy said “Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free” and “Get busy living, or get busy dying.” What an inspiring story.

  5. I can relate to this poem. It so has expressed my heart in many ways..throughout my years. Well written and nice photos to go with it!

    • I think taking inventory of life’s mistakes are something many people do often. Something about this broken, rusted out boat with a royal title touches me in more ways than one. I’m glad the words make sense enough for you to relate. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  6. Great shots Emily! I especially like the first one, I love the textures, patterns and colors in the decay and rust on the boat.

    • Thank you Jim. I love to photograph old rutsty boats for the same reasons as you. For this shot, besides the name of the boat, the decay, peeling paint texture caught my eye. I’m sure it was a beauty at one time.

Leave a Reply

