Injustice & Freedom From Oppression

During the photo walk Saturday, we came across two separate demonstrations: The injustice treatment for a slain Native American here in Seattle; the oppression and violence in Libya. Although the demonstrations were peaceful, nonetheless; you can feel the anger and sadness of the peoples’ energy.

John T. Williams was a homeless, semi-deaf, Native American wood-carver shot and killed by a Seattle Police officer. He was shot four times after not responding to the officer’s order to put his carving knife down. The investigation later show that Mr. Williams likely did not hear the officer’s request because of his hearing problem. The police officer, Ian Burke later resigned from his position but the prosecutor did not file any charges against him. I certainly can identify with the peoples’ outcry of injustice treatment and lack of accountability from Ian Burke.  Here is a video of the incident taken from the patrol car. As you can see that Mr. Williams was innocently walking across the street when the crazy cop jumped out and within 30 seconds — he shot and killed Mr. Williams.

Personally, I don’t believe Ian Burke was in great fear of his own life and safety; also the knife wasn’t open as he had claimed the reason for shooting. Okay, I will get off my soapbox now…

Here are some images I took from the protests.

While I am familiar with the country Libya, I don’t really have full understanding of its political revolution, or about Gaddafi. I usually try to stay out of discussion on politics. However, here is a link to Jolene’s post: Spotlight on Libya. Besides the great photo, she also wrote some very interesting history about the country.

Here is a photo collage of the protest images.

11 Comments on “Injustice & Freedom From Oppression

  1. Pingback: Sadness « Tau Zero

    • Personally, I think if Mr. Williams wasn’t a homeless Native American, there probably would have been more punishment for the police officer. But then again, I have seen injustice done to people of all colors and race. It’s just unfortunate that wrong people are in power.

  2. I agree with you on the feel of both protests, I felt the exact same way. I like how you converted to B&W for those shots, I’ll keep that in mind when I get to mine.

    • There is something about B&W photos that shows the emotions and mood much better than color. I love B&W photos. Though, I miss the fun and chemical smell of the darkroom. Those were the good old days when you have to develop the film in complete darkness and the prints in red light.

  3. You captured the overall feel of the Williams protest much better than I did. Especially after looking at the video you linked I think the investigation should continue.

    • It was interesting the different levels of energy I felt from both groups. While shooting the Williams protest, I sense more sadness — people were consoling each other through their chanting and drums and this is evident from the expression on their faces. I chose to focuse more on their emotions and shot close up. After seeing the video, I don’t understand how the law can ignore such injustice and brutality against Mr. Williams. I’m guessing because he was just a homeless person.

      With the Libya protest, the energy was definitely more angry and loud, they want to be heard. I chose to shoot wide for this protest.

Leave a Reply

