The Glass Tower

Instead of taking more photos, thought I would continue to play with Photoshop filters today. I found another useful filter effect — the Lens Flare. Like its name, it simulates lens flare effect. So, it’s best use on photos with reflecting objects such as glass buildings, water, or shiny surface.

I experimented on a photo I took of one of the many glass buildings in downtown Seattle. While I find the reflection of the clouds and bright blue sky interesting, there is nothing really special about the image.

When I added the lens flare, it created a faux sun reflecting from the side of the building. I thought this made the building look more impressive and gives a better impression of the bright sunny day that it was.

One of the important things to remember about working with Photoshop is to use layers. It will save you a lot of time and aggravation.

1. Duplicate original photo on a new layer
2. Go to Filter > Render > Lens Flare (You can change the brightness and lens type. For the brightness, I chose 100% and applied it twice separately. I find this gives it a softer flare. Like cooking, it’s easier to add more than to subtract.)
3. On a new layer, I added 25% saturation to bump up the blues and -2% lightness to compensate the brightness from the flare.

11 Comments on “The Glass Tower

  1. Hello. Nice to meet you.I came from David Williams’s site. I also like your beautiful photo.
    My major is architecture.Now I review the structural calculation of buildings.

    • Hi, nice to meet you too. There are a lot of amazing looking buildings in Seattle. Definitely an architect’s paradise. Thank you for visiting my blog and your compliment. Hope to see you again soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

