CMYK Space Needle

At first I was just going to post a photo of the space needle for today’s Daily Shoot assignment. However, as I was playing around with it in the Lightroom, the idea of turning it into a poster came to mind. This of course took my mind back to the first time when I learned about printing and the color separation process. I was amazed by the fact that color printing uses only 4 colors: CMYK (cyan, magenta, yellow, and key or black) And that’s how I came up with the concept for the poster. Although I’m not sure if this will make a good poster, so I appreciate any comment or suggestions you have. What do you think? What do you like or dislike about it? Thanks!

12 Comments on “CMYK Space Needle

  1. I like the idea, but the composition doesn’t work well for me. My eye gets drawn to the white space in the middle. I might have put a full-color Space Needle in the middle (though that might make it too busy), or maybe skew the perspective so all of the Space Needles are radiating out from the center. Kind of like a high-tech flower.

    • Hum… high-tec flower, now that’s an interesting thought… thanks for your input Mike. 🙂 I had the same thought about the white space so I put the letters CMYK on each corner in the center but it was too distracting looking. I had a screen of the space need in the center background and you are right, it was too busy looking. I’m thinking maybe a different POV of the space needle in the squares instead of the same shot.

  2. I think this should make a good poster. Another thought will be to put together Seattle’s iconic places (what pops my mind are Pike place, Seattle needle) and make it a collage…

  3. I like this a lot. The space needle photo is great and I like the creativity on this one. Clever. Works very well.

  4. Pretty neat photo of the space needle. For me it was interesting to see this because I was talking about my trip to Seattle in my class tonight. Nice color disply.

Leave a Reply

