The French Experiment

I woke up with a craving for french toast this morning. So I thought I would post my breakfast, although it was more like brunch by the time I was done making and shooting them. The result was tasty, though I will need to experiment with the wild blueberry sauce again. The flavor was good but I think it needs to be a little sweeter and maybe add some lemon zest or perhaps some cream sherry to give it extra something…

Since the recipe is still in the development stage, I will not post the recipe today but hope you enjoy the pictures.

I really enjoy food photography. It’s challenging and yet very calming at the same time. One of the great things I’ve learned from food photography is that, it forces you to learn about using good lighting and correct aperture settings. Unlike some subjects, you can’t get good food photos without knowing these technical details.

19 Comments on “The French Experiment

  1. Yes…drool!! It’s about lunchtime as I’m reading this, and I’m very tempted to have breakfast for lunch – although I know for a fact there’s nothing around here that would be as good as that looks. As much as you enjoy food photography, I enjoy looking at your photos!

  2. Wonderful! (Makes me hungry again and I just ate!)
    What sort of lighting do you use for food photography?

    • Usually, I try to use natural light from the window when I can. One good thing about having grey weather, it does provide excellent light source and is easier to work with than sunny days. But on the days when it’s too rainy and grey, or too sunny (as if I’m going to complain about that) I use artifical light. Here is a link to the post I did about food photography equipment to give you some idea the set-up. https://emilygoochphotos.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/rainy-day-food-photography/

      • Thanks Emily, I’ve bookmarked it to read when I have a bit more brain than right now.
        🙂

  3. /drool! Wow, It’s 5:55am, no breakfast and starving now that I read this. They look amazing and am also really looking forward to the recipe! Excellent job Emily, I really like how you always add in photos of the prep!

    • Aww… didn’t mean to make you drool… not! 😉 You know what they say about breakfast being the most important meal of the day.

      Thanks for the compliment David. 🙂

  4. OMG! Emily, these look delicious! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving the link to yours. I look forward to seeing more. God bless you! 🙂

  5. Excellent series of images. And I agree with the above commenter – these photos make me want to eat a snack right now!

    • Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 Hopefully, I’ll have the recipe this weekend… that is if I can get some more wild blueberries. If not, I’ll just make it with regular blueberries.

  6. Looks delicious Emily. Love these shots and you are so right about food photography – but it’s fun as they don’t mind you shooting pictures 😉

  7. I need to quit reading your blog so late at night – the food photos always look so good they make me hungry for a late night snack!

Leave a Reply

