Sun, Surf, and Feathers

The sun came out and the sky — bright blue. Quickly, I grabbed the camera, the restless fury kids, and some day old bread. We drove down to the Mukilteo ferry terminal for some fun… and entertainment.

It’s impossible to keep a golden out of the water. The water was freezing cold but Max didn’t care. He was ready to play.

After putting the furry kids back in the car. I got out the day old bread and set off to shoot some birds. With the bread, I had the birds practically eating  it out of my hand. I spent the next hour throwing out little crumbs and watching them fight for it. I know… not very nice. But hey, I got some good shots. 😉

19 Comments on “Sun, Surf, and Feathers

  1. Great shots, but of course you know that I like the ones of the birds best! It always astonishes me that birds (which have curious and invidual personalities) are so astonishingly in control when they are flying.

    • I was amazed too by their control abilities when flying and landing. In addition to curious and individual personalities, they can be sneaky. I could see their eyes were focused on the bag of bread and sense them plotting — on how to steal it from me when I have both hands on the camera.

  2. awww max looks so happy! growing up, we had a pool in the backyard & i begged my mom to get me a golden retriever so he/she can swim with me. she thought they were too big of dogs, so she got me a cocker spaniel… and of course, she hated water LoL

    • Max is always happy when he gets to play. He would absolutely go nuts if I have a pool. Actually, I don’t find Max’s size a problem because he is very obdient and smart. My sister had a cocker spaniel and all he wanted to do was eat. 🙂

  3. I love the second to the last bird shot, looks so cool! I hear tomorrow is suppose to be nice, hopefully I will have the opportunity to head out and get something on “film”. 😀

    • I know! The weather reports sun for the weekend and most of next week. Wow! After 2 weeks of rain, I’m ready to get out and do whatever. I’m going to go shoot some eagles today at Rockport Sate Park, past Concrete on Hwy 20. I hear there is a large eagle migration happening right now. I wonder if they will work for bread like the seagulls. 😉

  4. Seagull pictures that bring the book “Jonathon Livingston Seagull” to mind. Who is the little fur friend, Emily? Gorgeous photos!

  5. All of the pictures are beautiful and I especially like the second bird picture. It could easily be hung in someone’s beach house. The dogs are great too! I laughed when I saw the little one with the little jacket in the water. Kids will be kids! 🙂

    • I always think dogs are a lot like kids. They go through the terrible twos and the rebellious teenage years. Fortunately, they don’t take as long as kids to grow out of the stages and they don’t talk back. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Each one of these shots has something very unique and beautiful about it. I like that you were able to get so close up on the bird shots. The photos are very crisp, and you can see a lot of the details.

    • If you ever want to get good close up picture of the seagulls, just take some bread and they will do whatever you want. I had them practically eating out of my hand. 🙂

  7. Aw Em…Max is so cute! He reminds me of Xander…a die hard water lover. These bird photos are really nice….great close up on those seagulls!

    I like your animal photography. Very nice work!

    • Thank you Em. I appreciate your compliments. Yes, Max is a die hard water lover too… and it’s almost impossible to get him out… but when it’s bath time, he has this most miserable, sad puppy face look.

  8. Great shots. I especially like the first one of the dog swimming. I did the same thing – as soon as I saw a clear sky this morning I dropped all other plans and ran out to take some pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

