Snoqualmie Falls

Snoqualmie Falls is a 268 ft (82 m) waterfall on the Snoqualmie River between Snoqualmie and Fall City, Washington, USA. It’s listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is one of Washington’s most popular scenic attractions. However, the area is best known internationally for its appearance in the television series Twin Peaks. Unfortunately, the land is owned by the Puget Sound Energy, and most of the Snoqualmie river is diverted into the power plants.

The historic Salish Lodge & Spa overlooks Snoqualmie Falls. The original building on the site was erected in 1919. It was completely remodeled in 1988 and the fireplace is the only remaining part of the original structure. Besides the amazing close up view of the falls, I hear the lodge is famous for their fantastic breakfast menu. Although, it looks like a beautiful place to stay; I’m not sure how easy it would be to sleep with the loud thundering sound of the water falls roaring all night long…  

10 Comments on “Snoqualmie Falls

  1. these pictures are AMAZING!!!! don’t you just love how beautiful nature can be? the last picture is simply divine!

  2. You answered my question at the end of the post. I was going to ask you how loud the sound of the falls was because your second photo seems to speak it.

  3. Emily, I tend to agree with Sasi for the first two photos. I believe it works wonders on the last photo, it gives it an “old photo” feel! I have been out there a few times but never with my camera…hmmm, perhaps a trip is in order. I like your thinking about the new glass, I think you have a plan.

    • Thanks for the input David. I agree with you guys. It didn’t look too bad on my black screen but I think it is a little bit on the blue side with the white background.

    • It was a very gray and blah day. The shots look flat and washed out. (no pun intended) Decided to convert them to b&w and added blue to give it some color. Maybe it might be a little too blue… or perhaps, I should just keep it in the gray scale. Ah… the joy of Lightroom. 😉

  4. You have captured the impressive size and power of the Falls quite nicely! I’ve only been there once, but it would be worth the return trip. I

    think you should tough out the thunderous noise of the waterfall so you can write about how good the breakfast is there. I mean, for you blog and all…I feel like you should give them a decent food review! 🙂

    • Thanks Jolene. It was pretty impressive. You know… I had thought about staying there until I found out how much it cost a night. I think I rather buy myself a nice new piece of glass so I can take even better pictures the next time I go back. 😉

Leave a Reply

