Back To The Drawing Board…

Thank you everyone for your supportive comments regarding my new job. Unfortunately, it wasn’t meant to be. At first, I thought… FINALLY! I have a job: I can be passionate about, utilize all my talents, and at the pay rate I asked for. However, at the end of my second day, I was told they had made a mistake in giving me the original offer. I was told the person who made the offer didn’t have the authority to do so.  Anyway, the new salary offer was much lower — to the point that — I have no choice but to walk away. I believe in the value of my expertise and the immense benefit it brings to the job. However, it’s only right to be fairly compensated for the multifaceted amount of skills required. While I am very disappointed to find myself with a basket of broken eggs, I know I made the right choice. I need to stand behind my principle and have faith that the right thing will come along. In the mean time… back to the drawing board. 🙂 

So what do you do when you find yourself with a basket of broken eggs? Don’t feel despair… with some imagination and voilà! A delicious Smoked Salmon Omelette with Sour Cream and Salsa breakfast that will put a smile on your face.  

8 Comments on “Back To The Drawing Board…

  1. I’m sorry that opportunity didn’t work out. I had something similar happen a few years back, and it’s disappointing. YOU, however have some amazing talents, and I’m very optimistic that if you keep moving forward you will find the right thing. 🙂

  2. That really bites Emily, sorry to hear about that but damn girl, that looks like one YUMMY meal! You know, since we live soooo close, where’s my invite? 😛

  3. Bummer. Sorry to hear that Emily.
    I think you made the right decision. In general the job market seems to be getting better and I am sure there should be other “right” opportunities opening up.

    Smoked Salmon Omelette looks real appetizing.

    • I hope you are right about the market getting better… right now, it seems like companies are trying to take advantage of the situation by offering below normal wage because they know people are desperate for jobs. 😦

  4. Damn, that sucks but, good for you in sticking by your principles. You have a lot of talent, as a photographer and clearly as a chef, I hope you find what you’re looking for 🙂

Leave a Reply

