Oh, For The Love of Rum!

I’m not much into drinking liquor but I love cooking with it. Thought I would try something different and make a recipe with lots of butter and rum. I decided to create a recipe for a pie. The result: Cranapple Crumble Pie with Warm Apple & Butter Rum Sauce; a sinfully delectable pie that would make Captain Jack Sparrow a very happy pirate — singing, Yo Ho Ho and a bottle of rum.


One of my favorite things to do besides cooking is developing recipes. And even though I owned over 100 cookbooks, I have a habit of not wanting to follow the recipes exactly. I find recipe development exciting and fun. It’s interesting experimenting with all the different ingredients and discovers new tastes. The difficult part about recipe development for me is keeping track the exact amount of the ingredients. I am one of those cooks who eye balls the ingredients instead of measuring. Though, I would say most of my recipe experiments have produced good results. There have been times where it even exceeds my expectation. And yesterday’s experiment was one of those great moments. The butter and rum add a luscious quality to the pie. It tastes savory, yet at the same time delicate and not overly sweet. And the aroma of the spices permeates your senses, creating a sense of warmth and comfort for the home. This would be the perfect pie to make for the holiday dinner. I will have the complete recipe with photos for tomorrow’s post. 🙂

6 Comments on “Oh, For The Love of Rum!

  1. I love your glass and that pie…well…gosh, it looks good. I love rum. I grew up on rum. We started sipping at age 13, much like the French introduce wine to their children. I am not much of a drinker but if I have to drink liquor, I prefer the sweetness of rum. Especially well-aged rum.

    • Thank you… If you like well-aged rum then you’ll probably like the rum I used for this recipe. It is 7 years old and rated XXX! Personally, I don’t like rum as is but this one is actually very flavorful with a hint of sweetness. And of course it’s great for cooking. I also find the bottle design very attractive.

Leave a Reply

