November Snow

Woke up this morning to a rare sight… snow-covered landscape. This is something we don’t get to see often in the Pacific Northwest. And unfortunately, it also means people around here doesn’t function well in the snow — most of the schools are closed today and the roads are quiet — I know… you would think we had a blizzard instead of only a couple of inches. But that’s all it takes to paralyze the city.

As much as I dislike the cold and snow; I decided to brave the cold this morning to take advantage of the rare opportunity. I walked around the golf course pond but didn’t find anything interesting to shoot. So, I took some snap shots in front of my house instead…

This is a view of my condo complex. Looks like most people decided to stay home today.

7 Comments on “November Snow

  1. Red leaves on snow – yes, that’s a lovely sight. But I’m with you, Emily – I hate the cold and snow. Looks pretty, but much nicer when it’s gone, I think!

  2. I’ve never seen a sight like that before, the strange blend of snow and autumnal leaves is very appealing. Great triptych.

  3. I agree with you on that one Emily, the weather sure has been strange! I would say the taillight is my fav out of these, there’s just something about the ice covered plastic…

  4. It’s that interesting cross over period between fall and winter. I love the contrast between the fall colors and the snow.

    I grew up in Minnesota, and agree that it’s interesting that a couple of inches qualifies as a blizzard here in the Pacific Northwest. I remember walking uphill through knee deep snow in subzero temperatures to catch the school bus….

Leave a Reply

