Late Bloomer

I woke up this morning, feeling  unmotivated and lack of inspiration. Of course, the first thought was to skip posting. Then as usual, I start to have this inner civil war with my conscience: to skip or not to skip. It was like having a devil on one shoulder and the angel on the other, debating the pros and cons. I’m happy to say the angel won the debate. One of the things I’ve learned since starting this blog is that when I hit a creative block, it’s better to work through it than to let it be an excuse to not do it.

So… I loaded the camera with a fresh battery and the 50mm prime, and forced myself to take a walk. I walked across the street to the golf course pond thinking maybe I will find something interesting. Other than the usual flock of ducks, the pond felt cold and lifeless.  No more dragonflies hovering, bees buzzing — not even a mosquito. The vegetation looked brown and exhausted.

As I continue to trudge along the wet muddy path, I came upon a small bush with some dandelion blooms on it. That became my inspiration and the title “Late Bloomer” came to mind. I searched around the pond for other flowers and found a couple more late bloomers. I’m glad I listened to the Angel…   🙂

2 Comments on “Late Bloomer

  1. The image that looks like the flowers are in motion is lovely but my fave is the purple flower (or maybe magenta, my monitor’s colour’s a bit off at the moment) – standing out all by itself. Bold and delicate at the same time.
    🙂

  2. I know what you mean by “lack of inspiration” – some days are like that. But I’m glad that you were able to overcome and keep going with the blog post.

Leave a Reply

