Tomatillo Black Bean Salsa

I bought some tomatillos for my photo shoot yesterday and in the process, came up with this recipe. Since it turned out really tasty, thought I would post the recipe instead. This is a great vegetarian dish because of the protein in the black beans. Just serve it with some warm tortillas and you have a nutritious, and high protein lunch. It is also a fantastic side dish with grilled salmon or steak. Enjoy!

Tomatillo Black Bean Salsa
Serves 6

2 Cups Diced Tomatillos
1 Cup Diced Fresh Tomatoes
1/2 Cup Diced Red Onions
1/2 Chopped Cilantro
1 Diced Serrano Chili Pepper*
1 15 oz Can Black Beans (drained)
1/4 Cup or about the juice of 1 lime
1 Teaspoon sugar
1/4 Teaspoon Salt
1/8 Teaspoon Cumin
2 Teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  1. In a large ceramic bowl, mix lime juice, sugar, salt, cumin and oil. Add tomatillos, tomatoes, onions, cilantro and black beans. Gently stir until all the ingredients are well mixed.
  2. Serve with warm tortillas

*Note: If you are not a spicy chicken like me, you can use more peppers for a spicier salsa. Thank you for reading my blog. Make a great weekend! 🙂

7 Comments on “Tomatillo Black Bean Salsa

  1. We are some tomatillos in our garden, although they aren’t as big as these yet. I’m looking forward to trying your salsa recipe — sounds yummy!

  2. I really love your food posts so much. The setup is always perfect and the recipes look fantastic. I need to try some of these!

  3. I forgot ONE thing at the grocery store last night, so when I go back for it today I’ll get some tomatillos and lime. I think it would be really tasty on a grilled chicken breast seasoned with lime wrapped in a tortilla.
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. That looks super yummy! I’m loving your food photos – the bad egg cracked me up. ;D Thanks for sharing your recipes and your set-up, too.

Leave a Reply

