Rainy Day Food Photography

Ever since I started doing food photography, I can’t seem to go past the produce section without wanting to buy something that I think would be nice to photograph. It’s as if those fruits and vegetables would call out to me: Pick me… pick me… I would make a great photo. Needless to say on some days; I lose my self-control and ended up buying more food than I need. Yesterday, I spotted these tomatillos still wrapped in its leafy wrapper. I have seen them before but never had the desire to try it. However, I thought they would be interesting to photograph. I bought a pound; not sure what I was going to do with them after the shoot. 

Of course, once my mind starts working; I wanted to do more with the tomatillos. I cut open one and took a taste. It tasted a little tart but interesting texture. A recipe came to mind: Tomatillo Black Bean Salsa. It would be great with tonight’s steak dinner.  

As I was gathering the rest of the ingredients,  thought of the comments I have received from my fellow bloggers raving about my food photography set-up came to mind. So of course this gave me more ideas for today’s blog. I wanted to show how the food set-up really looks like. What I thought was going to be a quick photo shoot of some tomatillos turned into an all day event. Which is fine since it looks like our summer is definitely over and the famous Seattle rain is back. Okay… enough rambling. On with the secrets to my food photography.  🙂

Here is the big secret: My studio light box & lamps. I use the light box for days like today. It’s rainy and gray or when I want a more consistent and less distracting background color.

Welcome to my photography studio: The dinning room. The table and kitchen counter is where I set-up all my food shots. As you can see, the studio box doesn’t take up very much space. It’s 30″x30″. 

Once I have the food set-up the way I wanted. I shoot from different angles and move the setting around to get the right composition. The one thing that I always seem to forget until after I shot a bunch of frames. And that is to check for the cleanliness of the items. There is nothing more annoying than to see good shots with a hair, a finger print on the silverware handle or like the next photo: A piece of cilantro stem clinging to side of the bowl.

For some reason, the stem sticks out like a sore thumb. Your eyes automatically sees it before anything else. Well… thank goodness for Photoshop. I used the clone tool to erase the stem and to clean up a few other unwanted details. The after image looks much better without the distracting green stem.

Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s post. And please feel free to comment or let me know if you are interested in getting a copy of the recipe, which by the way; turned out very tasty if I say so myself. 

Make a great day!  🙂

8 Comments on “Rainy Day Food Photography

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog recently…I have just taken a look at some of your photos – wow, you are an amazing photographer!!! I’m looking forward to taking a look at your recent posts…in like…ten seconds!! 😀 xx

  2. Oh no. It’s 11pm and I’m thinking about snacking and then I see this post. Wonderful salsa making me think about Doritos! Ahhhhh! Thanks for posting the pics of your setup. Maybe it’s time for me to invest in a light tent!

  3. Thanks for sharing your ‘secret’ Emily. Great shots as usual. Weird that you mentioned the clone tool. I used it a couple of days ago on that image with the little girl and her grandfather. There was a guy running toward the who just had to be erased..:) My use of it isn’t as clean as yours though.

    • Thanks Wesley. The trick with the clone tool is to pick an area as close to the area you want to erase. In Photoshop, it will give me a little view of the clone area I’ve chosen. As you move you will see the clone area in the magnify glass and this helps you see if the area you have selected from will line up correctly.

      By the way, I think you did a good job erasing the poor jogger. I couldn’t tell anything was done to the photo. 🙂

  4. love the photography!! It is so hard to make food look as delicious as it tastes, but your photos look fabulous!!

    • Thank you Rebecca for visiting and the nice comment! I used to have trouble getting good photos until I learned that proper lighting makes a big difference in food photography.

Leave a Reply

