Shallow Depth

Well… just when I thought summer has finally arrived; it ended just as quick. We had only one week of hot temperature and now it’s back to the typical 60’s and cloudy. I guess it’s a good thing I have these photos to remind me of summer. 🙂 
Today’s daily shoot assignment: Make a photograph with a shallow depth of field today. Get in close if you need to force it with the lens you have.

I shot these photos manually with the 50mm, f/1.8 lens. The first two images on tripod and the third, hand-held. This is such an amazing lens, especially for achieving shallow DOF. I like how the background images become color patches that compliments the main subject. I discovered this lens is great for food photography.

Have a fantastic weekend everyone.  🙂

12 Comments on “Shallow Depth

  1. I’ve been away for a couple weeks, obviously I’ve been missing out on a lot. Great images. I’m glad you’re liking the 50mm. Mine still has not left my camera. You need to move around more, but the images are great.

  2. I’ve just been browsing your photography in your blog. You’re an excellent and very talented photographer and I’m enjoying your work tremendously. I’ve added your blog to my feed reader and look forward to seeming more. (I notice also that you’ve got stuff on Flickr. I’ll add you when I’m next there, as I also have an account there).

    Lovely!!
    🙂

  3. All 3 of those photos are great. The first one is my favourite. I wanted to do a shot of a glass with ice cubes, you’ve done it very nicely and the lemon certainly does add a great touch to it.

    I know what you mean about the weather. It’s been pretty horrible of late. Today was nice, it was looking miserable but cleared up nicely. I’m really hoping that tomorrow is pleasant, I’ve got the day off and want to take the kids to Bournemouth. I’m fairly worried but I’ll be sleeping with my fingers crossed tonight 🙂

    • I think Seattle has the same kind of weather as London. It rains too much… although, it is actually sunny and bright blue sky today. I hope you enjoy your day off with the kids and of course take lots of pictures. 🙂

  4. Hi there! Just stumbled upon your blog! I wanted to comment on those lovely photos, I love the lemon/glass shot! Very nice 🙂

    • Thank you! The more I use this lens, the more I love it too.

      At least it seems like summer is over here in Seattle. It was 87 degrees on Monday and then dropped down to 68 on Tuesday and currently 62! I do hope we will get a few more days of heat and sunshine before the rain comes back. Have a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

