The Dessert Breakfast

Today’s daily shoot assignment: Make a photograph of something you eat today. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack. Make it look tasty. The assignment got me thinking about what I wanted to eat for breakfast but also would make a nice photograph. I thought about doing something with eggs but since I’ve just read 380 million eggs is being recall for salmonella contamination; the eggs didn’t sound tasty to me. Besides, I was in the mood for something sweet.

Although, I am not a health fanatic, I do like to eat healthy when I can. Here is a good for you dessert breakfast: The fruit and yogurt parfait. I used to not like yogurt until I discovered the parfait. However, I did not like the store-bought because of all the extra sugars and high calorie content. It defeats the purpose of eating healthy. I came up with this recipe instead –  it tastes great and has about 200 calories.

Mixed Berries Parfait
Make 1 serving

3/4 Cup Plain Non-Fat Yogurt
1/2 Cup Frozen Mixed Berries (thawed)
1/4 Cup Nature Path Pumpkin Flax Granola
2 Teaspoon Honey
1/4 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

  1. Mix yogurt with vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon honey.
  2. In a tall glass, layer yogurt mixture with berries and granola.
  3. Repeat step #2
  4. Top with remaining yogurt mixture and 1 teaspoon of honey.

Enjoy!

10 Comments on “The Dessert Breakfast

  1. That does look yummy! Great photo and dof. I happen to love plain yogurt but I am going to try this recipe because it adds a lot of nutrients without the sugar.

    • Thank you for the comment. The only sugar comes from the honey which is a lot better for you than the regular sugar. I couldn’t believe some of those prepackaged yogurts has 29 grams of sugar. That’s over 6 teaspoons in a 6 oz cup!

  2. Thank you for the nice comments. 🙂 The funny thing about the table setup… it was messy looking set-up. Some how, it looks together when photographed. I’ve also discovered the perfect lens for food photography – 50mm f/1.8 . It is perfect length and creates really nice dof.

  3. Have to agree with both comments, composition is wonderful, table setup is wonderful. Also like the DOF and thanks for sharing the recipe! Have to say, that looks much better than the bowl of cereal I’m munching on right now!

Leave a Reply

