Flora in Volunteer Park

At last… hot summer weather has arrived in Seattle. For the last few days, the temperature has been in the mid 80’s to low 90’s. And instead of cooling off at the beach; I ended up spending about an hour sweating in the Volunteer Park Conservatory’s  green house photographing these amazing flowers. I used my 50mm prime lens for all the shots. The more I use this lens, the more I love it.

The lighting in the green house was perfect for experimenting with the exposure and depth of field. I kept the aperture at f/1.8. and ISO 200. In Photoshop, I used the luminosity mask technique to change the brightness and give the image a soft glow. I recently learned this technique from Tony Kuyper. Check out his website for the free basic luminosity mask tutorial. However, he does offer more advanced techniques for a donation. Trust me, it’s worth it!

14 Comments on “Flora in Volunteer Park

    • Thank you Stacie for visiting my blog. I’ve just visited yours; very nice blog and photos. I especially like the photo of your cat sleeping on his back. He looks like he is quite a character. 🙂

    • Thank you. I used Nikon Nikkor 50 mm, f/1.8.
      I enjoyed your blog and the photos are great. The night scenes are amazing. 🙂

  1. This PS PP technique sounds similar to using soft focus filter – although I think you have more control in PS 😉

    Nice flora pics and PP work on these.

    • Thanks Sasi. You definitely have more control in PS. The technique creates an alpha channel of the selection and makes selecting of the pixel areas a lot easier. You can save the selection and use it to create other types of filter masks. PS is great but so much to learn…

Leave a Reply

