Sunny Side Up

While I enjoy taking photographs of various subjects, I discovered food photography is one my favorites. I love watching shows like Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations and Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmerman. They get to travel around the world and eat all kinds of foods. However, as much as I try to be open to different food experiences, I would not want to eat goat testicles, deep-fried bats or balut (it’s a fertilized, nearly develped embryo of a duck or chicken egg) etc. Although, I have to admit: I’ve eaten snake meat — it tasted like chicken. My mom didn’t tell me it was snake until after I ate it. She was a firm believer in “You are what you eat…” and was always feeding my siblings and me foods she thought would be good for our health. However, after seeing our reactions, she never bought snake meat again.

These quail eggs were fun to photograph. It was a bit of a challenge to cook but at least they tasted like regular chicken eggs.  

4 Comments on “Sunny Side Up

  1. I really like the second shot, it works very well. Have you watched Man vs Food? My current personal favourite 😀

    • Yes, I’ve watched a few episodes. And it made me sick to my stomach to see him stuff himself with all that food. 😉

  2. Nice reflection of the eggs on your second shot. I’ve never tasted quail eggs, but it looks delicate to me. BTW…I have watched both the shows you’ve mentioned (long time ago though). It was fun watching them 😉

Leave a Reply

