Stuck On Food

It looks like I’m really into cooking and food photography lately. Guess I’ve been watching too many episodes of Top Chef; for last night’s dinner, I decided to do a top chef challenge. I spontaneously made up dishes with whatever ingredients I had in the fridge and pantry. Like the show, I gave myself 45 minutes to cook the meal. You know what?? I think I could have been a Top Chef and I even know how to bake a pie. I watched an episode where the chefs had to make a fruit pie from scratch and out of the 10 contestants or so; only 3 of them have knowledge of making pies. It was comical watching these experts stressing out and using the most strangest ingredient combinations. I’m all for being inventive but really… celery in a fruit pie?? Yuk! Needless to say, I was  very surprised and wonder… “How did these people achieved their suppose super chef status without ever having to bake a fruit pie in their entire cooking career??”

For my Top Chef challenge, I came up with the following dishes.

Flank Steak Roll w/Thai Basil Pesto & Chevre
Roasted Sweet Potatoes w/Cinnamon
Braised Southern Greens w/Apple Smoked Bacon & White Wine Reduction
Quinoa Simmered in Butter & Herb Broth

I apologize for not including the recipes. However, if you are interested in any of the recipes, please let me know and I would be happy to send it to you. Thank you for reading my post and as Julia Child would say “Bon Appetit!”

Thai Basil Pesto & Chevre

Flank Steak Roll w/Thai Basil Pesto & Chevre

Roasted Sweet Potatoes w/Cinnamon Spice

Braised Southern Greens w/Apple Smoked Bacon & White Wine Reduction

Drum roll please… presenting…

8 Comments on “Stuck On Food

  1. Pingback: Celebrating 100 | Emily's Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

